Wall Of Death / Loveland
Album: Loveland   Collection:General
Artist:Wall Of Death   Added:May 2016
Label:Innovative Leisure Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-05-16 Pull Date: 2016-07-17
Week Ending: Jul 17 Jul 10 Jun 5 May 29 May 22
Airplays: 3 3 1 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 08, 2016: In The Year One Thousand, Eight Thousand -Guest DJ Super Chuck
For A Lover
4. Jul 12, 2016: Magnetized Toner
Blow The Clouds
2. Jul 14, 2016: a strange pursuit
Blow The Clouds
5. Jul 09, 2016: Music Casserole
How Many Kinds
3. Jul 13, 2016: Brownian Motion
Memory Pt. 1 & Pt. 2
6. Jul 08, 2016: The Pocket
Blow The Clouds

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-05-16
Expansive, cinematic psychedelia from France stacked with swirling guitars, organ, synthesizer, and Mellotron. From the press: “Loveland is a work of art or even architecture, a castle-slash-cathedral built on catacombs and caverns and secret passages, where the way in is also the way out.”

RIYL Lumerians, Wooden Shjips, Spiritualized, Iceage
Favorites: 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10

1. (5:05) Loveland—Unsettling 50 second vocal intro. Then the percussion, acid trip synths, and psychedelic guitars hit. Aquatic, ascending, ‘80s synths come halfway in before returning to the song’s original, more standard psych structure.
2. (3:13) * For a Lover—Concise, uplifting track with Mellotron. Lyrics repeat “for a lover” often. Very Spiritualized.
3. (2:50) ** Mother Tongue—Spacious, phased guitars and vocals and glimmering organ. Very pretty. Psych rock, Steve Gunn style.
4. (3:41) ** How Many Kinds—Uptempo and heavier percussion. Whistling synths, dreamy guitars, and ethereal vocals. Gets heavy metal at times.
5. (7:56) *** Blow the Cloud—Everything you’d want in a psych rock epic. Melodic bassline, driving guitars, and cascading synths. Riding out into the sunset kind of music. Shifts dramatically at 5:00 to a repetitive synth melody with some drone and warbled sounds that build and build. Returns to propulsive guitar and drums at 6:30.
6. (2:32) *** Dreamland—Spacious organ and synths for 40 seconds, then picks up with drums and acoustic guitars. Vocals are both the main guy’s voice and another background, whispered vocal line. “We’re in dreamland.” Reminds me of ‘80s 4AD.
7. (4:01) All Mighty—Midtempo in first 1.5 minutes with vocals and heavily-effected guitars that stand out the most. Briefly picks up with fast drumming and intense synths before coming back down.
8. (4:07) Little Joe—Heavy, industrial guitars but still eerily calm. Surprise synths interrupt the heaviness at 2:20.
9. (2:31) Chainless Man—Largely uptempo with a gorgeous, acoustic middle passage. Beginning and end are pretty chaotic in their embrace of Synthville and something akin to Those Sick Guitar Riffs You Need to Know Before You Die.
10. (10:44) * Memory Pt. 1 & Pt. 2—Another epic, this time past the ten minute mark. Play and try to transcend your temporality.

Track Listing
1. Loveland   6. Dreamland
2. For A Lover   7. All Mighty
3. Mother Tongue   8. Little Joe
4. How Many Kinds   9. Chainless Man
5. Blow The Clouds   10. Memory Pt. 1 & Pt. 2