Minor Victories / Minor Victories
Album: Minor Victories   Collection:General
Artist:Minor Victories   Added:Jun 2016
Label:Fat Possum Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-08-21 Pull Date: 2016-10-23
Week Ending: Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2 Sep 25 Sep 18 Sep 11 Sep 4
Airplays: 2 4 3 1 3 1 4 1

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 20, 2016: a strange pursuit
The Thief
4. Oct 13, 2016: a strange pursuit
2. Oct 18, 2016: What's Not to Love?
5. Oct 11, 2016: Clean Copper Radio
Give Up The Ghost
3. Oct 14, 2016: Time Traveler
A Hundred Ropes
6. Oct 11, 2016: What's Not to Love?

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-08-21
Band comprised of members of Slowdive, Mogwai, and Editors. Shimmering indie rock with a heady dose of synths, strings, and shoegaze. Rachel Goswell sings mostly but sometimes male vox are present too. No FCCs.

1. (3:41) *** Give up the Ghost—Drowsy vocals and guitar distortion, ponderous head-swaying rocker
2. (3:55) ** A Hundred Ropes—Bubbling synth intro, drum machine and dazzling synths/guitars, urgent
3. (6:25) **** Breaking My Light—Dense and grave with a certain airy lightness in the vocals still. Soaring synths and more spare passages with just voice and piano
4. (4:17) Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard)—Hopeful, grandiose, twee. Male and female vox, synths, driving guitars
5. (6:42) * Folk Arp—Softer acoustic ballad, airy female vox, sublime synths. Adds drums and feedback-drenched guitars eventually
6. (3:19) ** Cogs—Fast rock anthem, grinding guitars, memorable synth line, never loses momentum
7. (3:50) For You Always—Male and female vox alternate in conversation about a love story. “We once met in Los Angeles just around the time of the Columbine murders and Mojave 3 were playing on Sunset Boulevard at Tower Records.” Steady beat, synths, chime
8. (4:09) Out to Sea—Hazy female vox, strings, synths. Steadily becomes a more thunderous, opulent shoegaze
9. (7:26) ** The Thief—Spooky. Low female vox, chime and violin.
10. (6:20) *** Higher Hopes—Melancholy piano, fragile raw female vox, spare. With three minutes left it takes off—violin and drowned out vocals, swiftly building drums, syrupy shoegaze textures

Track Listing
1. Give Up The Ghost   6. Cogs
2. A Hundred Ropes   7. For You Always
3. Breaking My Light   8. Out To Sea
4. Scattered Ashes (Song For Richard)   9. The Thief
5. Folk Arp   10. Higher Hopes