Jones, Meilyr / 2013
Album: 2013   Collection:General
Artist:Jones, Meilyr   Added:Jun 2016
Label:Pias America  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-07-04 Pull Date: 2016-09-04
Week Ending: Sep 4 Aug 28 Aug 21 Aug 14 Aug 7 Jul 31 Jul 24 Jul 17
Airplays: 1 1 2 1 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 16, 2023: Music Casserole
Don Juan
4. Aug 20, 2016: Music Casserole
Passionate Friend
2. Sep 02, 2016: Time Traveler
How To Recognize A Work Of Art
5. Aug 19, 2016: Time Traveler
How To Recognize A Work Of Art
3. Aug 26, 2016: Time Traveler
How To Recognize A Work Of Art
6. Aug 12, 2016: Time Traveler
How To Recognize A Work Of Art

Album Review
Mr. Tumnus
Reviewed 2016-06-26
Chamber pop. A hopeful, young Welsh artist sings about his impressions of Rome and young women and authenticity in art. A really optimistic feel to this one. The focus here is on the voice, and with good reason--it’s very strong, flexible, and reaches some very high notes. The lyrics are clear and easy to understand. High production value--lots of strings, brass, harpsichord. Not overproduced, though, which so much chamber pop is; the voice still feels like a voice, having to strain for notes sometimes. Surprisingly bold in moments: one of my favorite tracks has an experimental edge, and bits of spoken word are integrated throughout. As with most chamber pop, there are a lot of moving pieces, but when they sync up, it really works.

Recommended: 1, 5, 6, 2, 9, 12

1) ** “How to Recognize a Work of Art” (3:38): Brassy. Opens with vocal sample. Talking about authenticity in art.
2) * “Don Juan” (3:00): Stylized harpsichord and flute. Baroque atmosphere.
3) * “Passionate Friend” (5:46): Bouncing intro. Lots of strings. Builds to some lovely passionate moments for the singer. Reminds me of a scene from a musical.
4) “Refugees” (3:30): Voice and the piano. Jones singing mostly to himself. Not really a chorus--highly introspective. Birdsong at the end.
5) ** “Rome” (4:25): Wonderful classical, formal opening. Lightly syncopated theme.
6) ** “Rain in Rome” (1:29): Superb highly distorted transition track. Pattering in the background, like shells opening and closing. Becomes thunder and then applause.
7) “Strange Emotional” (3:48): Jaunty guitar. Kind of strained rocky chorus is endearing.
8) “Return to Life” (5:18): Gloomy opening opens into a hopeful reminiscence. Deeply emotional storytelling. Fake ending about a minute early--then a frenzied little dance number.
9) * “Love” (2:59): Restful moments frame a groovy little chorus.
10) “Olivia” (4:20): Big cymbal clashes. Sprawling, slow opening. Injected with a huge amount of energy at about 1:30; chorus of voices joins in. Long instrumental conclusion.
11) “Featured Artist” (5:27): Bright trumpet to open. Singing about an artist on top of the world. Things fall apart, predictably. “You’ll find me in a grave in Rome.” I don’t think this guy expects to make it big. Last 40 seconds of someone speaking Italian.
12) * “Be Soft” (5:46): Really gentle violin theme. Vocalist asks to us to be soft. A bit more instrumental than the other tracks. Nice ending.

-- Mr Tumnus

Track Listing
1. How To Recognize A Work Of Art   7. Strange Emotional
2. Don Juan   8. Return To Life
3. Passionate Friend   9. Love
4. Refugees   10. Olivia
5. Rome   11. Featured Artist
6. Rain In Rome   12. Be Soft