Total Slacker / Parallels
Album: Parallels   Collection:General
Artist:Total Slacker   Added:Sep 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-09-25 Pull Date: 2016-11-27
Week Ending: Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13 Oct 30 Oct 23 Oct 16 Oct 9 Oct 2
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Nov 02, 2017: butterscotch memory: run for cover
Turn On The Lights
4. Nov 17, 2016: a strange pursuit
Turn On The Lights
2. Feb 21, 2017: satin fever
Don't Want To Be Alone
5. Nov 12, 2016: Life Aquatic
Turn On The Lights
3. Nov 22, 2016: Magnetized Toner
Community College Hero
6. Oct 27, 2016: All Passion No Technique
Vision, Turn On The Lights

Album Review
DJ Aporia
Reviewed 2016-09-06
Pop punk with shoegaze and surf tendencies. This band contributed to a tape with the likes of Dum Dum Girls, Twin Sister, and Beach Fossils and that shimmery C86 sound comes through often but through an earnest pop punk filter, near identical to Title Fight’s last album. RIYL ‘90s guitar pop, forthright emotional rock about girls and getting the hell out of this town

1. (4:02) *** Turn on the Lights—Throbbing, skyward, emotional rock. Pop passages with some softer acoustic and synth sections.
2. (2:35) Vision—Fast youthful anthem. Grandiose guitars, really nice bass, soaring vox.
3. (3:04) **** Community College Hero—I first heard this on KALX and was wowed. Totally infectious hooks and smart lyrics.
4. (3:58) Don’t Want to Be Alone—Walls of guitars, higher very pop punk vox, super driving.
5. (2:57) *** Olympus Hills—Jangly guitars in a nice little twee number. Bright hammer-ons in last minute. Guitars are the most impressive here.
6. (7:29) ** Telephone Your Soul—Gloomy, dense slow-burner. Basically all guitars in last four minutes. Sounds like some kind of ultra-futuristic, existential pop punk in imitation of The Cure’s Disintegration. “You’re naked like the rest of us.”
7. (2:59) *** Don’t Ever Fade Away—Softer, more melancholy with acoustic guitars. Great vocal delivery. Emotions build tremendously, and the track gets weirder at the end. Sort of generic lyrics like “don’t ever fade away, ‘cause you know the sun shines on a new day”, but that’s ok because this song rips.
8. (3:11) ** Want It That Way—Mid-tempo, breezy Ryan Adams-inspired love song. Mostly acoustic guitars with some electric fills towards the end. Comforting, resolute.
9. (2:42) Erased Your Number—Grinding with a lot of effect flourishes. Literally Title Fight's ‘Hyperview’.
10. (3:43) ** Lost in Your Eyes—Fast. Weird pop-punk/shoegaze hybrid guitar tone. More wandering and experimental in last minute, with very strong bass.
11. (2:34) ** Journeys Ahead—Inspiring anthem. Chiming guitars and boundless optimism. Ends the album on a hopeful note.

Track Listing
1. Turn On The Lights   6. Telephone Your Soul
2. Vision   7. Don't Ever Fade Away
3. Community College Hero   8. Want It That Way
4. Don't Want To Be Alone   9. Erased Your Number
5. Olympus Hills   10. Lost In Your Eyes
  11. Journeys Ahead