Vieaux, Jason And Julien Labro / Infusion
Album: Infusion   Collection:World
Artist:Vieaux, Jason And Julien Labro   Added:Nov 2016

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2016-12-06 Pull Date: 2017-02-07 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Feb 5 Jan 22 Jan 15 Jan 8 Dec 25 Dec 18 Dec 11
Airplays: 2 2 3 3 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 21, 2019: Hanging in the Bone Yard
Tres Danzas Concertantes-Allegro
4. Feb 09, 2017: Melange
Suite Retratos-Chiquinha Gonzaga, Antonia
2. Apr 05, 2018: Melange
Escualo, Antonia
5. Feb 08, 2017: At the Cafe Bohemian
Tres Danzas Concertantes-Toccata
3. Jul 13, 2017: Clean Copper Radio Talk & Hot Topics
Suite Retratos-Anacleto De Medeiros, Everybody Wants To Rule The World
6. Feb 01, 2017: At the Cafe Bohemian
Tres Danzas Concertantes-Toccata

Album Review
Margy Kahn
Reviewed 2016-11-30
Grammy award winning guitarist Jason Vieaux and world renowned accordionist Julien Labro team up with percussionist Jamey Haddad and bassist Peter Dominguez to make marvelous quasi-classical world music; starts with Three Dances written in 1958 by Leo Brouwer, Cuban composer and guitarist, and goes on to cover Pat Metheny, Gnattali's homages to to three great Brazilian composers and Tears for Fears.

NO FCC's; all instrumental; Favorite tracks: 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10

Tres Danzas Concertantes by Leo Brouwer
1—Allegro (3:51) – modern bandoneon and guitar music; starts fast; slows a little

2- Andantino (5:02) – a little slower; pretty ornaments on accordion and guitar; very modern sounding

*3-Toccata (5:30) – fast back and forth with accordion and drum to start; guitar comes in; habanera feel

**4-Antonia (6:22) – Pat Metheny composition-- contemplative interplay between guitar and gorgeous accordina

Suite Retratos by Gnattali (all named for the composers who inspired them)
*5-1-Pixinguinha (8:45) – choro-style tribute to great Brazilian musician by the same name; understated but catchy

*6-2-Ernesto Nazareth (5:37) – waltz starts slow and then speeds up; repeatedly; tenderly rendered

7-3-Anacleto de Medeiros (6:38) – slow Schottische dedicated to another choro composer speeds up a little toward end

*8-4-Chiquinha Gonzaga (8:09) – maxixe (rapid 2/4 time) dedicated to a pioneering female composer of choro music – starts off very fast and pretty much keeps up the pace until a third of the way in when it slows with interesting percussion; then speeds back up; slows up once more for percussion solo and then speeds back into main theme

*9-Escualo (7:58) – Astor Piazzola composition–intricate bandoneon melody starts; relatively uptempo; guitar takes up melody; nimble arrangement!-- a little different from the usual A.P.

*10 – Everybody Wants to Rule the World (4:57) -accordina and guitar on Labro's cover of the “Tears for Fears” hit song

Track Listing
1. Tres Danzas Concertantes-Allegro   6. Suite Retratos-Ernesto Nazareth
2. Tres Danzas Concertantes-Andantino   7. Suite Retratos-Anacleto De Medeiros
3. Tres Danzas Concertantes-Toccata   8. Suite Retratos-Chiquinha Gonzaga
4. Antonia   9. Escualo
5. Suite Retratos-Pixinguinha   10. Everybody Wants To Rule The World