Thundercat / Drunk
Album: Drunk   Collection:General
Artist:Thundercat   Added:Apr 2017

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-04-12 Pull Date: 2017-06-14 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jun 18 Jun 11 Jun 4 May 14 May 7 Apr 30 Apr 23 Apr 16
Airplays: 1 1 2 3 4 5 7 3

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 09, 2023: Down in the Basement
Them Changes
4. Oct 28, 2021: A Night on the Roof (rebroadcast from May 3, 2018)
Them Changes
2. Feb 28, 2022: Everything in Particular (rebroadcast from Feb 18, 2022)
Show You The Way Feat. Michael Mcdonald & Kenny Loggins
5. Aug 21, 2021: Sludge Music Show
Friend Zone
3. Feb 18, 2022: Everything in Particular
Show You The Way Feat. Michael Mcdonald & Kenny Loggins
6. Feb 07, 2020: Training Hour
Them Changes

Album Review
DJ Postnatal
Reviewed 2017-04-07
This concept album is the video game soundtrack to an entire drunken night. Wacky lyrics in falsetto vocals, with lots of oohs and ahhs, are backed up with keyboards, guitars, strings, percussion, you name it. The short tracks should technically be played in sequence to see how they cohere. Some amusing cameo appearances too.

RIYL Flying Lotus, Nosaj Thing, Hudson Mohawke
FCC clean (our version is edited)
Recommended tracks: 6, 12, 14, 16

1. (0:39) A lullaby-esque intro to the next track. Falsetto vocals backed with a dorky keyboard line. Down the rabbit hole we go...
2. (1:42) Video-gamey interlude playing while we get ready to go to the club, ending with a relieved fart.
3. (2:16) Super-fast string and piano breakdown getting funky with harmonious oohs and ahhs.
4. (2:24) Bright and dreamy, carefree ode to losing one’s phone. Oops.
5. (2:39) Meowing over a muffled funky midtempo guitar line.
6. (2:59) Slower late-night melodic ballad. Gently washing over my ears...
7. (1:35) R&B feel spiraling out into a repeated guitar line.
8. (0:37) Short funky interlude bleeping and blooping into oblivion.
9. (3:35) Saucy slow jam featuring the gentle harmonies of Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins - need I say more?
10. (3:19) Slow jam with a rap courtesy of Kendrick Lamar backed up by what sounds like a slow, preprogrammed Casio keyboard beat.
11. (2:00) An interlude that could be played during a ‘60s game show. Bright and kitschy, the euphoria of the night.
12. (2:25) Twinkling computer noises complement a psychotic, offbeat ode to the electric city nightlife of Tokyo. Non-falsetto singing.
13. (1:09) Leave me alone on my manic pixie dream space ride! Hearts, stars, sprinkles, unicorns abound.
14. (3:13) Big spacey Com Truise-esque synth line with a super funky beat. I’d rather play Mortal Kombat than pursue you if you’re gonna leave me in the friend zone.
15. (3:08) Bootsy Collins-esque bringing the midtempo funk here.
16. (2:10) Raspy, urgent, lamentable, with a punctuated drum line.
17. (3:35) Sexy, synthy, spacey ode to getting more trashed featuring the one and only Wiz Khalifa. Leads directly into next track.
18. (4:01) A melting record’s slow descent into hell. Strings, piano, and synth. Dissonant and midtempo with devilish and staticky samples.
19. (0:26) Poetic interlude with guitar and programmed beats. Intro to next track.
20. (1:15) That familiar tale of insomnia backed up by soft and sweet, shimmery guitars.
21. (1:42) Disorienting wacky, wet beat to complement a drunken sung monologue with Internet lingo and more.
22. (2:29) More downtempo inner monologue about a destructive, nonsensical possible end to the night, featuring Pharrell and guitar.
23. (2:18) Reprisal of the melody from track 1. Lots of keyboard. The flawed thought process before getting behind the wheel to end this tragedy.

Track Listing
1. Rabbot Ho   12. Tokyo
2. Captain Stupido   13. Jameel's Space Ride
3. Uh Uh   14. Friend Zone
4. Bus In These Streets   15. Them Changes
5. A Fan's Mail (Tron Song Suite Ii)   16. Where I'm Going
6. Lava Lamp   17. Drink Dat Feat. Wiz Khalifa
7. Jethro   18. Inferno
8. Day & Night   19. I Am Crazy
9. Show You The Way Feat. Michael Mcdonald & Kenny Loggins   20. 3am
10. Walk On By Feat. Kendrick Lamar   21. Drunk
11. Blackkk   22. The Turn Down Feat. Pharrell
  23. Dui