Owel / Dear Me
Album: Dear Me   Collection:General
Artist:Owel   Added:May 2017
Label:Equal Vision Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-06-01 Pull Date: 2017-08-03
Week Ending: Jul 23 Jul 16 Jul 9 Jul 2 Jun 25 Jun 11
Airplays: 2 1 2 4 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 19, 2017: butterscotch memory
I Am Not Yours
4. Jul 13, 2017: Totally A
Paper Hands
2. Jul 20, 2017: Totally A
Paper Hands
5. Jul 06, 2017: Totally A
Paper Hands
3. Jul 18, 2017: butterscotch memory
6. Jul 04, 2017: butterscotch memory

Album Review
Sam I Am
Reviewed 2017-05-14
Owel / Dear Me: A very beautiful emo rock album with hints of post-rock throughout. The band is very fond of their string arrangements, as nearly every song has some sort of string accompaniment. Male vocalist has a very clear tone, and never verges into the whiny timbre that accompanies most emo vocalists. Lots of loud, crushing climaxes tend to close out many of the songs.
RIYL: Muse, Circa Survive, Sigur Ros, “Ok, Computer” era Radiohead. FCC clean. Recommended: 1, 6, 10.

1. (5:53)* Soft intro with bells until 00:22 where guitars and strings come in, followed by a much more subdued and melancholic tone, a fav.
2. (7:28) Clear vocals with plucking strings, very dramatic outro to more strings and post-rock esque guitars.
3. (4:34) Sounds a lot like a Muse song. Airy female backing vocals in the chorus.
4. (4:58) acoustic guitar intro, very emo sounding, some vocal choir going on from the middle of the song till end.
5. (3:46) More up-beat in tone compared to other songs, typical indie rock guitars speed it up in middle.
6. (5:58)* Long, drawn out vocal lines in the chorus alternating with some falsetto. Beautiful, loud outro to strings and fuzzy guitars.
7. (4:43) Light, comforting keyboard and bells. Very soft sounding song.
8. (6:51) Filler track, rumbling drums and scattered guitars throughout. Music stops at 6:30, last 20 seconds are just whispering.
9. (4:18) Distorted electronic drum beat, female backing vocals, synth solo.
10. (6:26)* Bright piano melody intro, reminds me of spring. Most cheerful sounding song on album. Math-rock sounding riffs come through after first chorus, another fav.
11. (5:32) Glockenspiel intro reminds me of Radiohead, wall of fuzzy power chords and strings in the climax.
12. (5:10) Music starts at 00:08. Basically an instrumental post-rock outro, with only distorted vocals vaguely heard in the background.

Sam I Am.

Track Listing
1. Slow   7. Steal The Moon
2. Pale Soft Light   8. Annabel
3. Too Young To Fall In Love   9. Not Today
4. Be Quiet   10. Places
5. Paper Hands   11. Ocean Legs
6. I Am Not Yours   12. Albert And The Hurricane