Cheer-Accident / Putting Off Death
Album: Putting Off Death   Collection:General
Artist:Cheer-Accident   Added:Jul 2017
Label:Cuneiform Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-07-26 Pull Date: 2017-09-27
Week Ending: Aug 27 Aug 20 Aug 6
Airplays: 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 30, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Jul 22, 2021)
Language Is
4. Jan 09, 2018: Magnetized Toner: Best of 2017 (Part 2)
2. Jul 22, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Oct 24, 2017)
Language Is
5. Dec 19, 2017: Magnetized Toner
Language Is
3. Feb 20, 2018: Magnetized Toner
Language Is
6. Oct 24, 2017: Magnetized Toner
Language Is

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2017-08-04
Iconoclastic Chicago avant-pop experimentalists Cheer-Accident has just released their 18th album titled Putting Off Death and it doesn’t disappoint – like always. By now in their fourth decade of existence (they formed in 1981), the band, as it has been doing in recent years, continues to craft hybrid songs that explore jazz rock - similar to early Tortoise recordings and inspired by their long-lasting fascination with AM pop radio melodies and classic progressive rock sensibilities. I discovered this band in 1997 listening to college radio back then and I was blown away by how eccentric and unconventional they were. Twenty years later, I’m captivated by how they are still as out there as you can get. Never compromise, always your way. Cheer-Accident forever.

RIYL: His Name Is Alive, Body/Head, Home, Snickers and Thinking Fellers Union Local 282.

Recommended Tracks: 1, 2, 4, 6, 7

1. (11:24) ***Language Is – Starts as a Randy Newman wannabe song, ends like a Snickers track. 1970s AM radio pop memories filtered through experimental rock and field recordings. Majestic.
2. (4:13) **Immanence – Piano driven underground pop a la His Name Is Alive. Beautiful vocals.
3. (3:45) Wishful Breathing – Pleasant post-jazz rock piece. Solid instrumentation.
4. (3:40) **Falling World – Avant-pop recording at medium-up tempo. Effective guitar effects. Hypnotic.
5. (3:01) More And Less – Marimba driven prog rock – very early 1970s. With horns and everything.
6. (6:59) *Lifetime Guarantee – More avant-pop filtered through 1970s prog rock. Male/female vocals, long guitar solos and crazy rhythmic changes. Epic.
7. (5:12) *Hymn – Pianos, vocals and a slow beat. 1970s AM radio meets 1990s college radio. Multidimensional pop.

Track Listing
1. Language Is   4. Falling World
2. Immanence   5. More And Less
3. Wishful Breathing   6. Lifetime Guarantee
  7. Hymn