Naomi Punk / Yellow
Album:Yellow Collection:General
Artist:Naomi Punk Added:Sep 2017
Label:Captured Tracks 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2017-09-14 Pull Date:2017-11-16 
Week Ending:Nov 12Oct 29Oct 22Oct 15Oct 8Oct 1Sep 24

Recent Airplay
1.Aug 26, 2021:The Library (rebroadcast from Nov 22, 2017)
Chapter Ii
4.Nov 22, 2017:The Library
Chapter Ii
2.Nov 29, 2017:The Library
Chapter Ii
5.Nov 08, 2017:The Library
Chapter Ii
3.Nov 25, 2017:Music Casserole
Tiger Pipe
6.Oct 28, 2017:Music Casserole
Journey To The Top

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2017-09-08 
Every so often there is an album that shocks listeners with its sonic originality, whether that be through the blending of two previously unmixed genres or the creation of a sound palate that is wholly unique from that of any previously created record. Albums like this become inherently rarer as time goes on. The 25 songs that make up Naomi Punk’s fourth record (Yellow) seem to document a metamorphosis for the band. This transformation is not one that has been fought against or even passively undergone, but instead one that the three members seem to each strive for at every turn.

Like: Parquet Courts, PC Worship, Tyvek, Ex-Vult.

FCC on 4.

Recommend to play: 5, 7, 8, 10, 15.

1.Introduction I (1:49) - Slows on electric hums and the sounds of synth knives.
2.Introduction II (2:11) - Starts to fade in the light sounds of a club. Finally hitting the music.
3.Chernobyl Carrot (1:08) - Clanging stomps of a band on the edge of a real song
4.Cookie (1:48) - Start and stop, discordant punk sound that bears its teeth.
5.Cardboard (2:22) - Slowly climbing guitar line over line after line of angry vocals.
6.Thru The Trees (1:18) - Trippy but ultimately bland track.
7.Chapter II (5:07) - Steadiest groove in this album, very good vocals.
8.Tiger Pipe (4:49) - Cool shuffle underneath its warped mess.
9.My Shadow (2:52) - Funky '80s pop under several tons of sludge.
10.Gotham Brake (2:51) - Move in slow, but loud steps.
11.The Sound Of Music (1:14) - Like a sound check with funky synths.
12.Scorpion Demo (0:55) - Instrumental filler.
13.Perfect (2:57) - Whispery menace and jackhammer guitars.
14.On Mi Mind (2:15) - Simple guitar song, floating a catchy mix of melodies.
15.Scorpion Glue (4:18) - Dynamic and sporadic drums and distorted guitars.
16.Matroska (2:02) - Slaps and flutters with synth moods.
17.Yellow Cone Hat (3:18) - like a mudslide of guitars that covers the freeway.
18.Carniceria (2:30) - Jittering in loose tempo and phrasing
19.Motorcade (4:57) - Deliberate pace, sprawling a little strange.
20.Chains (3:35) - Grinds in haunting chords, creepy song.
21.Taurus (3:04) - Jangly guitars sparkling and flying around a circuit.
22.70 Cents (3:20) - Melancholy vocals and guitars drenched in chorus and emotion.
23.Journey To The Top (6:11) - Drone of vocals and drums.
24.Cookie II (3:41) - Fittingly warped and jumbled.
25.Scorpion Theme (3:44) - Mix of lunging riffs and rain falling.

Track Listing
1.Introduction I 13.Perfect
2.Introduction Ii 14.On Mi Mind
3.Chernobyl Carrot 15.Scorpion Glue
4.Cookie 16.Matroska
5.Cardboard 17.Yellow Cone Hat
6.Thru The Trees 18.Carniceria
7.Chapter Ii 19.Motorcade
8.Tiger Pipe 20.Chains
9.My Shadow 21.Taurus
10.Gotham Brake 22.70 Cents
11.The Sound Of Music 23.Journey To The Top
12.Scorpion Demo 24.Cookie Ii
 25.Scorpion Theme