Flock Of Dimes / If You See Me, Say Yes
Album: If You See Me, Say Yes   Collection:General
Artist:Flock Of Dimes   Added:Nov 2017
Label:Partisan Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2017-12-03 Pull Date: 2018-02-04
Week Ending: Feb 4 Jan 28 Jan 21 Jan 14 Jan 7 Dec 31 Dec 24 Dec 17
Airplays: 4 1 5 1 4 3 5 4

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 05, 2022: training test
Everything Is Happening Today
4. Oct 13, 2021: National Treasure (rebroadcast from Nov 27, 2017)
Everything Is Happening Today
2. Dec 08, 2021: National Treasure (rebroadcast from Dec 4, 2017)
Everything Is Happening Today
5. Jul 21, 2021: Quite Gnarly (rebroadcast from Dec 8, 2017)
Everything Is Happening Today
3. Oct 15, 2021: Waste FM (rebroadcast from Dec 19, 2017)
Everything Is Happening Today
6. Feb 05, 2020: soft boiled
Everything Is Happening Today

Album Review
amy cummings
Reviewed 2017-11-25
Flock of Dimes / If You See Me, Say Yes
reviewed by amy cummings

Debut album from Jenn Wasner of Wye Oak. Fun synth pop noises, a little bit psychedelic but not too intense, light and fun, cool lady vocals. The vox function more like any other instrument in this album than as a focal point. The album is upbeat and energetic. Vocalist kind of has a cool dated quality that reminds me of ladies like Dido, Alanis Morissette, Sarah McLaughlin, etc but the vocal effects applied make it modern.

RIYL: Sylvan Esso, Arcade Fire, Feist, St. Vincent

FCCs: None
Recommended: 4,5,6,9,10

1. Sometimes It Is Right (00:20): Starts off with a cool intro that gets reprised later, not much substance (very short) but sounds nice

2. Birthplace (04:12): This one has a little more clarity to the vocals than some of the other tracks. Smooth and consistent and picks up toward the middle.

3. The Joke (03:12): Sounds bright and celebratory. Fun bouncy intro instrumentals, then vox come in. Starts fading out very slowly around 2:50.

4. ***Everything Is Happening Today (4:00): Upbeat, celebratory, energetic, one of the most dynamic songs on the album.

5. *Semaphore (03:47): Vocals come in right away! Good upbeat jam, fun and dancey, for the Reflektor crowd

6. *Ida Glow (04:04): Very slow fade in on intro for about 20 seconds, then gets upbeat and cool. Has a bit of a creepy sound to the vox at first, a rhythmic track.

7. Flight (05:34): Also rhythmic, vox have more of a light and airy quality though there is a sense of urgency.

8. Apparition (04:28): Low-key, laid-back track, instrumentals more muted this time

9. *Given/Electric Life (03:16): Nice colorful track, dynamic melody, energy level is about medium compared to the rest of the album and remains consistent throughout

10. *Minor Justice (03:29): Has a futuristic spoken vocal breakdown in the second half. Cool song, diverts a little from the rest of the album

11. You, The Vatican (04:20): Pretty vocals. Slower, lower energy. Cool discord toward the end.

12. ...To Have No Answer (03:49): Ethereal and cool sounds, can’t really hear the vocals, doesn’t really go anywhere but pleasant to listen to, nice synth vox ending, reprises track one

Track Listing
1. Sometimes It Is Right...   7. Flight
2. Birthplace   8. Apparition
3. The Joke   9. Given/Electric Life
4. Everything Is Happening Today   10. Minor Justice
5. Semaphore   11. You, The Vatican
6. Ida Glow   12. ...To Have No Answer