Spellling / Pantheon Of Me
Album: Pantheon Of Me   Collection:General
Artist:Spellling   Added:Nov 2017
Label:Ratskin Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-11-24 Pull Date: 2019-01-26 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Jan 20 Dec 30
Airplays: 1 2
Add Date: 2017-12-03 Pull Date: 2018-02-04
Week Ending: Dec 17 Dec 10
Airplays: 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 15, 2019: Attitude Adjustment
Phantom Farewell
4. Nov 20, 2018: Nowhere Local
Blue (American Dream)
2. Dec 27, 2018: Nowhere Local
They Start The Dance
5. Dec 14, 2017: moodswings
Walk Up To Your House
3. Dec 24, 2018: Pumping Iron
Blue (American Dream)
6. Dec 07, 2017: Lucid Lightning: Power Hour
Blue (American Dream)

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2017-11-29
LOCAL! Minimal, cool, low-lit pop. Spellling (three “l”s) is Tia Cabral of Berkeley, and she composes what she calls “freak faith folk” using a few layers of synth or guitar run through a loop pedal, occasionally accompanied by spare beats. Her singing on top is smooth, carefully controlled, and water-well-deep, placed in service of a slow, introspective, foreboding vibe. On the strength of these self-released songs, she’s been blowing up in the East Bay. (The Express recently put her on the cover.) Here’s hoping for more. You’ll enjoy this especially if you like The xx, MJ Guider, Mal Devisa, Majical Cloudz, Jarboe, a darker Moses Sumney. Favorites: 1, 3, 6, 10, 12. No FCCs.

1. *(3:38)—Electronic wobbles, the softest of beats. Judging by the spooky whistling and retro synths, the house she’s singing about might need an exorcism.
2. (3:52)—Slightly woozy, almost slowcore guitar loop. Whispered, multitracked vocals. Becomes increasingly aggressive and blown-out.
3. *(3:06)—Dreamy, 80s sci-fi synths. Drum pads start soft and limpid then turn darkwave. Reminds me of Not Not Fun.
4. (3:14)—Spacious, soft reverie. Stuttering beat, high guitar, alien transmission synths.
5. (3:18)—Dense, lumbering. Low, sharp synths.
6. *(3:01)—Stars with a slightly bouncy synth line, gets deep and murky quickly. Slowly sinking multitracked vocals, lovely guitar.
7. (2:11)—Stark, dissonant. Dry, slow guitar fingerpicking.
8. (2:47)—Distant, serrated electric guitar. Picks up speed briefly, jumps across three very different beats.
9. (2:57)—Soft acoustic guitar, high feedback tones, heavily manipulated vocals. Cool ominous, noisy outro.
10. *(3:46)—A wordless chorus surrounds Cabral’s main vocal line. It sounds like she’s vanishing into her voice, willing herself into a spectral place. Simple, insistent synth melody.
11. (2:12)—Blown-out, robotic, funk flattened into an alien march.
12. *(2:18)—The closest thing to a straightforward love song here. Deep bass, piano, washes of high drone that remind me of Benoit Pioulard.
13. (2:24)—Dry vocal loops. Granular, slithering synth bass.

Track Listing
1. Walk Up To Your House   7. Nine Of Nights
2. Choke Cherry Horse   8. Bolt From The Blue
3. Phantom Farewell   9. Higher Ground
4. Interior World   10. Blue (American Dream)
5. Live With Me   11. Place Without A Form
6. They Start The Dance   12. Black Wax
  13. Lift Your Arms Around