Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Hiss Golden Messenger / Hallelujah Anyhow
Album:Hallelujah Anyhow Collection:General
Artist:Hiss Golden Messenger Added:03/2018
Label:Merge Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2018-03-10 Pull Date:2018-05-13 
Week Ending:13 May6 May29 Apr15 Apr8 Apr1 Apr25 Mar18 Mar

 Recent Airplay
1.Aug 03, 2021:Traditions (rebroadcast from May 4, 2018)
Gulfport You've Been On My Mind
4.May 04, 2018:Traditions
Gulfport You've Been On My Mind
2.May 11, 2018:Traditions
Harder Rain
5.Apr 26, 2018:A Night on the Roof
Caledonia, My Love
3.May 10, 2018:The Flannel Underground
Domino (Time Will Tell)
6.Apr 13, 2018:Traditions
When The Wall Comes Down

Album Review
Be Sharp
Reviewed 2018-03-01 

Another terrific record from a folk-rock outfit out of Durham, NC, led by singer-songwriter, M.C. Taylor. Instrumentation is electric & acoustic guitars, keys, harmonica, drums, and occasional horns. Taylor’s voice is pleasing, a bit like Justin Townes Earle’s. The male and female harmony voices are nice as well. Ten songs, and they’re all good. Play ‘em all. The often vague but intriguing lyrics are provided on included booklet.

No FCC issues.

1 ** Mid-tempo. Love song with vague lyrics. Happy sound led by piano. (3:39)
2 * Mid-tempo. Good singing. Steady rhythm guitar & nice harmonica. (3:22)
3 Mid-tempo. Voice up front, minimal ‘comp. Instruments fade out. (3:13)
4 ** Slow. A little bit sad. Well sung in a higher register. Elegant. (4:16)
5 Mid-fast. Something’s not right, not sure what. Guitar & mandolin. (2:49)
6 ** Very slow. Blues structure; reminiscing. Gentle piano. Harmonica solo. (4:42)
7 Mid-tempo. A little beat up, but still hanging in. Uplifting. Smoky sax. (3:28)
8 Mid-tempo. More of a rocker than the others. Rhythm & lead guitar, drums, horns. (3:45)
9 * Very slow. Sad folky ballad. Minimal guitar; occasional piano flourish. Lovely. (3:00)
10 * Slow. Another simple-seeming ballad. Well sung. Good electric rhythm guitar. (4:08)

Track Listing
1.Jenny Of The Roses 6.Gulfport You've Been On My Mind
2.Lost Out In The Darkness 7.John The Gun
3.Jaw 8.Domino (Time Will Tell)
4.Harder Rain 9.Caledonia, My Love
5.I Am The Song 10.When The Wall Comes Down