Watkins, Kobie Grouptet / Movement
Album: Movement   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Watkins, Kobie Grouptet   Added:Jul 2018

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-08-02 Pull Date: 2018-10-04 Charts: Jazz
Week Ending: Oct 7 Sep 23 Sep 9 Aug 26 Aug 19 Aug 12
Airplays: 3 3 1 1 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 10, 2021: Butter and Jams (rebroadcast from Aug 16, 2018)
Catch This
4. Nov 29, 2018: No Cover, No Minimum
2. Feb 04, 2020: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
5. Oct 06, 2018: Music Casserole
3. Jan 28, 2020: Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
6. Oct 04, 2018: A Night on the Roof
Catch This

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2018-07-25
Reviewed: 2018-07-25
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: While the album showcases the stylistic versatility and rhythmic cleverness of drummer
Watkins on each track, this album seems centered on Watkins' compositions. What is clearly illuminated on this recording is the collective giftedness of his band, and Watkins' capability as a bandleader. Watkins composed all the melodies and arranged the parts for each instrument. Presenting tightly sewn musical seams on each track, the accomplished and seasoned band on this album pull out the beauty of Watkins' compositions with great fortitude, musical expression, and technical clarity.
If You Like: Art Blakey, Sonny Rollins, Freddie Hubbard, Herbie Hancock
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
*1/ Catch This (6:26) – drums start> uptempo jam> trumpet solo> uptempo jam> bass solo> sax solo> wild uptempo jam> crescendo end
*2/ The City (7:20) – full band uptempo jam starts> sizzling piano solo> fast jam> quick stop
3/ Movement (8:41) – bass starts> midtempo jam builds to uptempo> slows on piano solo> uptempo jam> slow fade> midtempo jam> quick stop
*4/ Six Moods (6:57) – bass starts> slow jam> piano solo> sax solo> slow jam> slow fade
5/ Ga-Rum-Ban (6:40) – drums start> uptempo jam> sax solo swings wild> midtempo jam> trumpet solo> piano solo> uptempo jam> slow fade
*6/ Inner Motion (9:56) – bass starts> midtempo jam with cascading piano riff> electric piano solo> trumpet solo> sax solo> midtempo jam> drum solo> midtempo jam> slow fade
7/ Rivet (8:23) – bass/drums start> slow jam> drum solo> electric piano solo> sax solo> slow jam> slow fade
*8/ MBDC (6:49) – drums start> fast jam> gorgeous piano solo> sax solo> trumpet & drums trade riffs> uptempo jam> quick stop
9/ Falling Upward (7:38) – heavy bass piano chords start> uptempo jam> raunchy sax solo swings wild> uptempo jam> false stop> slow piano solo to end
*10/ Manteca (9:08) – bass starts> midtempo jam with Latin vibe> percussion solo> piano solo> sax/percussion duet> sax solo swings uptempo> trumpet solo gets hot> percussion/bass duet> uptempo jam> slow to fade

Track Listing
1. Catch This   6. Inner Motion
2. The City   7. Rivet
3. Movement   8. M B D C
4. Six Moods   9. Falling Upward
5. Ga-Rum-Ban   10. Manteca