Various Artists / Naps / Lung Cycles
Album: Naps / Lung Cycles   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2018
Label:Lily Tapes & Discs  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-08-12 Pull Date: 2018-10-14 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Sep 30 Sep 16 Aug 26 Aug 19
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 30, 2022: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
First, Rvc
4. Aug 19, 2018: Magnetized Toner: 3 AM
2. Sep 29, 2018: Narnia
5. Aug 18, 2018: Narnia
Second, Rvc
3. Sep 15, 2018: Narnia
Rvc, Second
6. Aug 18, 2018: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2018-08-01
Lo-fi ambient drone. Simple compositions, not exactly serene but very pretty and endearingly informal. Naps (Philadelphia) makes thick, burbling compositions by layering lots of keyboards. Lung Cycles (Rochester, NY) improvises on a pipe organ in an empty cathedral, then filters it through the hiss and wobble of tape. Favorites: 2, 5, 7. No words, no FCCs.

1. (6:58)—High, swirling loop, simple organ drone that gets deeper halfway.
2. *(10:06)—Subtle high tones, really nice low end, soft buzzing. A bit of a build, but nothing disruptive.
3. (8:19)—More dissonant layering. Dense.
4. (4:16)—Field recording of what sounds like driving. Harsher tones.

Lung Cycles
5. *(7:48)—Tape-warped organ drone in D major. Grand in a grainy sci-fi VHS dub way.
6. (6:38)—Optimistic. Drone in C major, simple chord variations.
7. *(10:23)—Ominous, formidable. Feels like actual imposing church music.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Naps First
2. Naps Second
3. Naps Third
4. Naps Ninth
5. Lung Cycles Rvc
6. Lung Cycles Dcs
7. Lung Cycles Rgn