Death Cab For Cutie / Thank You For Today
Album: Thank You For Today   Collection:General
Artist:Death Cab For Cutie   Added:Sep 2018
Label:Atlantic Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-09-09 Pull Date: 2018-11-11
Week Ending: Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28 Oct 21 Oct 14 Oct 7 Sep 30 Sep 23
Airplays: 5 7 3 5 5 5 4 5

Recent Airplay
1. May 27, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Summer Years
4. Jan 23, 2021: Hanging in the bone yard
Northern Lights
2. Jul 30, 2021: Music Genealogy (rebroadcast from Oct 10, 2018)
Gold Rush
5. Jun 26, 2020: KZSU Time Traveler
Gold Rush
3. Jun 14, 2021: Music Genealogy (rebroadcast from Dec 1, 2019)
Gold Rush
6. Mar 13, 2020: The Token Brit
Gold Rush

Album Review
amy cummings
Reviewed 2018-09-06
Death Cab for Cutie’s 9th studio album, Thank You For Today, was billed as an album with “something for everyone,” meaning that fans of various eras of the band’s music will find moments on the album that are reminiscent of the old band they feel they’re still entitled to. As an affectionate fan of the band since the days of my lovelorn youth, I feel comfortable saying that Ben Gibbard makes music for single 35-year-olds who still think about their exes every day. (I’m 23 but I feel this applies to me.) This album is both fresh and nostalgic; those who have followed the band up until this point, especially those who have enjoyed the spoils of Ben’s solo career, will be satisfied with the band's development through new styles, and others who jumped shipped a few albums ago may be enticed to slink back. Thank You For Today is a solid record on which just about every track is playable. Pay your respects to these indie rock legends and give it a spin.

RIYL: Death Cab for Cutie, don’t know what else to tell ya.
Favorites: 3, 6, 10, 4, 2
FCC clean

1. “I Dreamt We Spoke Again” (3:05) med-up tempo, very repetitive, pretty basic

2. *“Summer Years” (4:28) Driving, nostalgic, up-tempo tune wherein good old Ben is yearning to know whether his ex lover is happy without him. A solid tune for the Plans-loving crowd.

3. ****“Gold Rush” (4:00) strong mid-tempo lamentation of the rapid construction and gentrification changing the band’s hometown of Seattle. A love song for a city they don’t recognize anymore and an exploration of how memories are tied to physical places that aren’t immortal. My favorite on the album hands down. P.S. if you like this one, there are some WEIRD official remixes of it on spotify.

4. *“Your Hurricane” (3:19) slower mournful, moody tune about stepping away from a negative influence.

5. “When We Drive” (3:49) mid-tempo, about settling into the ways relationships change over time.

6. ***“Autumn Love” (4:19) a bright, bouncy song. DCFC doing their thing. Reminds me of Stay Young, Go Dancing.

7. “Northern Lights” (3:57) Faster, has a very subtle female vox feature

8. “You Moved Away” (3:49) a little more chill, wistful

9. “Near/Far” (3:42) up tempo. Seems like its about someone who doesn’t wanna take advice?

10. **“60 and Punk” (4:07) slower, more stripped down ditty, reminds me of around the time of the open door E.P. Roasting on somebody who refuses to age subtly out of the music scene and move on.

Track Listing
1. I Dreamt We Spoke Again   6. Autumn Love
2. Summer Years   7. Northern Lights
3. Gold Rush   8. You Moved Away
4. Your Hurricane   9. Near/Far
5. When We Drive   10. 60 & Punk