Paper Kites, The / On The Corner Where You Live
Album: On The Corner Where You Live   Collection:General
Artist:Paper Kites, The   Added:Oct 2018
Label:Nettwerk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-10-14 Pull Date: 2018-12-16
Week Ending: Dec 16 Dec 9 Dec 2 Nov 25 Nov 18 Nov 11 Nov 4 Oct 28
Airplays: 1 2 2 1 2 4 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 17, 2021: The Library (rebroadcast from Sep 18, 2019)
Deep Burn Blue
4. Sep 13, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Don't Keep Driving
2. Sep 18, 2019: The Library
Deep Burn Blue
5. Sep 06, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Midtown Waitress
3. Sep 15, 2019: Audio Ambrosia
Does It Ever Cross Your Mind
6. Aug 30, 2019: KZSU Time Traveler
Deep Burn Blue

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2018-10-11
“On The Corner Where You Live” The Paper Kites
One of Australia’s fastest-rising indie rock bands. The Paper Kites’ sound is a blend of mellow reverbed guitar and synth — best classified as nostalgic 80s rock, with a hint of folk-rock from time to time. Lead singer-songwriter, Sam Bentley, handles most of the vocals, with one track sung (and co-written) by Christina Lacy. Other band members include Dave Powys, Sam Rasmussen and Josh Bentley. The tracks are often sprawling and cinematic — with intricate arrangements and precise production. The Paper Kites will be appearing in San Francisco in early November. Highly recommended.
— Francis D.

Recommended: 3, 10, 2, 8, 11, 5, 4. No FCCs noted.

1. (1:31) A Gathering On 57th — Instrumental. Starts with train sound effects. Lush, late-night feeling. Piano. Jazzy saxophone. Segues into #2.
2. (3:32) Give Me Your Fire, Give Me Your Rain — Nostalgic 80s sound. Big chimey guitar. Syncopated drums. Lots of reverb. Soaring male vocals. ***
3. (4:39) Deep Burn Blue — Continuously chiming guitar over a pulsing synth bass and swelling synth bed. Rich harmonies. Lyrics are about a girl afraid to leave her apartment except after dark. ****
4. (5:13) Mess We Made — Written and sung by Christina Lacy. Rapidly picked guitar over flowing synths, with jangly guitar stingers. **
5. (4:05) Flashes — Mid-tempo. Strummed acoustic guitar, with throaty, jangly, reverbed guitar chords. Hopeful and reassuring. ***
6. (5:25) Red Light — Laid-back, late-night, slow dance. Liquid, ringing guitar throughout. Crooning vocals with deep harmonies.
7. (4:36) On The Corner Where You Live — Higher energy, while still retaining a soft, flowing feeling. Nice jangle.
8. (5:19) Midtown Waitress — More of a folky feeling, with the steady tap of a snare drum rim. Strummed and chimey guitars. Wistful vocals. Story about a waitress trying to make it in the big city. Ends with street noise and a saxophone solo trailing out. ***
9. (4:53) When It Hurts You — Big jangle. Deliberate tempo. Pulsing bass and drums. Harmonies rise up in the chorus.
10. (2:44) Does It Ever Cross Your Mind — Slow piano ballad with gentle vocals. Lyrics focus on what other versions of life are missed due to the choices we make. ****
11. (5:21) Don’t Keep Driving— Rolling, richly romantic and hopeful closer — full of nostalgia and a great 80s vibe. Diverse layers of sound. ***

Track Listing
1. A Gathering On 57th   6. Red Light
2. Give Me Your Fire, Give Me Your Rain   7. On The Corner Where You Live
3. Deep Burn Blue   8. Midtown Waitress
4. Mess We Made   9. When It Hurts You
5. Flashes   10. Does It Ever Cross Your Mind
  11. Don't Keep Driving