Surfbort / Friendship Music
Album: Friendship Music   Collection:General
Artist:Surfbort   Added:Dec 2018
Label:Cult Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2018-12-23 Pull Date: 2019-02-24
Week Ending: Feb 24 Feb 3 Jan 27 Jan 20 Jan 13 Jan 6 Dec 30
Airplays: 2 1 4 1 4 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 20, 2019: Brownian Motion
Hillside Strangler
4. Jan 25, 2019: Take a spin
2. Feb 18, 2019: Emergency Crew for PACC
Friendship Music
5. Jan 23, 2019: On The Warpath
3. Jan 30, 2019: Take a spin
6. Jan 23, 2019: Brownian Motion
Hillside Strangler

Album Review
Super Chuck
Reviewed 2018-12-07
Surfbort, are a relatively new punk band from Brooklyn, The band plays fast anarcho punk, but also feels like a weird trash. Although Surfbort sounds vintage, the songs on their debut album, Friendship Music, are relevant to 2018, tackling topics from global warming and gentrification to Trump and the government. They’re an incredibly fun listen, yet at the same time, clear skill and craftsmanship is detectable among each anthemic lyric and electrifying guitar riff or drum beat.

Like: Iceage, Japandroids, Ex Cult, Ty Segall,

FCC on 1, 3, 4, 5, 9, 14

Play: 2, 7, 10, 14

1.High Anxiety (2:15) Gets you right away the singer does not loosen the grip.
2.Feed (1:09) Pack a mean punch while wasting no time at all.
3.Slushy (1:44) Sharp lyrics, in conjunction with fuzzy chord progressions and thunderous drum fills.
4.Pretty Little Fucker (1:35) Potent and blunt message out to make a fun rock track.
5.Sunshine (2:03) Grimy and fun drive that makes more metaphorical lyricism stand out.
6.Les Be In Love (1:54) Aim to agitate and entertain in equal measure.
7.Trashworld (1:56) Explosive, demand you start moving and freaking out.
8.Dope (2:15) Punk simplicity for something truly compelling and emotionally.
9.White People (2:06) Freshens up punk providing Sonic Youth levels of effect and density.
10.Burn (2:22) Very familiar Misfits-esque punk rock vibe.
11.Rats (1:14) Punk rock, pure three chords trashy punk rock.
12.ACAB (1:28) Happy, bitter, sad, anxious, and quite possibly every sensation in between.
13.Hillside Strangler (1:41) Something haunting and tells a story of horror and female violence.
14.Stalker (2:22) Powerful and memorable rock, as they groan out of hazy shredding.
15.Forty Five (1:08) General societal apathy is addressed with smart commentary on the pitfalls of today.
16.Selfie (2:26) Reflection of self-indulgence is muddled a story.
17.Friendship Music (1:01) Sonic blasts of pure power.

Track Listing
1. High Anxiety   9. White People
2. Feed   10. Burn
3. Slushy   11. Rats
4. Pretty Little Fucker   12. Acab
5. Sunshine   13. Hillside Strangler
6. Les Be In Love   14. Stalker
7. Trashworld   15. Forty Five
8. Dope   16. Selfie
  17. Friendship Music