Pioulard, Benoit And Sean Curtis Patrick / Avocationals
Album: Avocationals   Collection:General
Artist:Pioulard, Benoit And Sean Curtis Patrick   Added:Feb 2019
Label:Beacon Sound  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-02-14 Pull Date: 2019-04-18 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 14 Mar 10 Feb 24
Airplays: 1 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 13, 2019: Music Casserole
3. Mar 06, 2019: Brownian Motion
2. Mar 09, 2019: Music Casserole
4. Feb 20, 2019: Brownian Motion

Album Review
Reviewed 2019-02-12
– General Description: “Dozens of freighters and small ships sank during the mid-20th century golden age of shipping on the Great Lakes; this album is about nine of them,” say the artists. According to the artists, an ‘avocational’ was an amateur diver who assisted in the rescue, investigation and salvage relating to watercraft disasters. (An avocation is a hobby or minor occupation.)

Thomas Meluch (aka Benoit Pioulard) grew up in Haslet and Sean Curtis Patrick resides in AnnArbor, both in Michigan, a state which has borders on four of the Great Lakes (Superior, Michigan, Huron and Erie). They use synthesizers, reel-to-reel tape machines, field recordings, guitar, and processed voice for the album ‘Avocationals’.

These lovely tracks are all sedate, languid and calming. No storms depicted. Only ghosts in the fog and water of the Great Lakes can be heard.

– FCC Compliant: YES
– Recommended Tracks: 1, 6, 9
– Track Reviews:
1. ***(4:49) Zenava - fuzzy boat horns sounding and echoing with deep foghorns as a descending bassline, then shimmering into the air
2. (3:55) Stonefax - calming droning sounds with splashes of distant percussive sounds
3. (4:28) Furia - higher pitched droning with a tidal (as in waves) feel
4. (6:42) Marlen - fish exploring the wreckage as only fish can do
5. (4:00) Sunek - voices present
6. ***(3:59) Nordmeer - floating sonar sounds in water
7. (3:27) Leadale - a gliding underwater feeling with some glitches
8. (4:33) Cabot - a tolling of the ship’s bells as it sinks
9. ***(5:03) Eaglescliffe - melodic foghorns calling to the shore and beyond

Track Listing
1. Zenava   5. Nordmeer
2. Stonefax   6. Leadale
3. Furia   7. Cabot
4. Marlen   8. Eaglescliffe