Chupame El Dedo / No Te Metas Con Satan
Album: No Te Metas Con Satan   Collection:General
Artist:Chupame El Dedo   Added:Apr 2019
Label:Souk Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2019-04-30 Pull Date: 2019-07-02
Week Ending: Jul 7 Jun 30 Jun 23 Jun 16 Jun 2 May 26 May 12 May 5
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 4

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 07, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Aug 5, 2021)
Mi Ancestro Berraco
4. Jan 21, 2020: Magnetized Toner: Best of 2019 - Part 1
Alexandra Candelaria
2. Aug 19, 2021: Magnetized Toner (rebroadcast from Aug 5, 2021)
Mi Ancestro Berraco
5. Jul 06, 2019: Music Casserole
No Te Metas Con Satan
3. Aug 05, 2021: Magnetized Toner
Mi Ancestro Berraco
6. Jul 02, 2019: Hanging in the bone yard

Album Review
Telepathic Juan
Reviewed 2019-05-01
No Te Metas Con Satan [Don’t Mess With Satan] is the debut album by Bogotá, Colombia’s experimental electro-tropical duo Chupame El Dedo [Suck My Finger]. Chupame El Dedo is a group formed by Eblis Álvarez (Meridian Brothers, Los Pirañas, Frente Cumbiero) and Pedro Ojeda (Romperayo, Los Pirañas, Frente Cumbiero, Ondatrópica). Setting up their sound with their 2014 EP debut, a mixture of grotesque techno beats, grindcore vocals, and tropical rhythms, 2019 brings a new album and expanding vocabulary with Dadaist spoken word, distorted male/female vocals, and a crazy nonsense narrative about being friends (or not) with the devil. Remarkably bizarre and extremely contagious.

Something else from the press release:
Formed by psych cumbia master Eblis Alvarez (Meridian Brothers) and Pedro Ojeda (Romperayo), the man that found the perfect cocktail mix for acid + folk + tropical beats, Chupame El Dedo are ready to mess around with Satan.

It’s a pitch perfect title for a record that’s never at the right pitch. The humour makes way for the funny stories that Eblis and Pedro explore in their lyrics. Frequently it comes to mind the universe of Quasimoto, Madlib’s abstract hip hop that sounded delicious in the early 2000s. Chupame El Dedo lives in the same kind of power trip, fuelled by intense salsa rhythms dressed with heavy metal images.That’s where Satan comes into place. The Devil wears many clothes, but none are as multi-coloured and trendy as the ones we see in “No Te Metas Con Satan”. Seriously.

RIYL: Meridian Brothers, Lasser Moderna, Los Pirañas, Frente Cumbiero and Romperayo.

Recommended Tracks: 2, 3, 4, 5!!, 6, 7, 8

1. (5:18) No te Metas con Satan – Medium-up tempo. Reggaetón beat, female/male vocals, crazy sounds. Sets the tone of the album. Tropical-cibernetico.
2. (3:45) **Metalero – Fast tempo. Part Merengue, part rumba. More crazy sounds and lots of percussion. Awesome vocals.
3. (3:40) *Peos – Medium-up tempo. Electro-merengue. More insane vocals and synth sounds.
4. (4:40) ***Mi Ancestro Berraco – Slow/Medium-up tempo. Deranged tropical piece with out there vocals and lyrics.
5. (7:42) ****Alexandria Candelaria – The coolest recording on the album. Part telenovela, part performance art. Ridiculous plot, startling sounds. Medium tempo. Instant classic! A bailar el bullerengue!!
6. (3:38) *Amo a mi Familia – Medium-up tempo. Merengazo sonico. More crazy noises, percussions and irrational vocals.
7. (3:48) *Me Duele – Medium-up tempo. Mad tropical piece, female/male vocals, crazy sounds. Tropical-cibernetico II.
8. (5:00) *Bolillo Cafre – Medium tempo. Electro-cumbia. Medium-up tempo. The insanity continues. Dense.

Track Listing
1. No Te Metas Con Satan   5. Alexandra Candelaria
2. Metalero   6. Amo A Mi Familia
3. Peos   7. Me Duele
4. Mi Ancestro Berraco   8. Bolillo Cafre