Wallace, Wayne Latin Jazz Quintet / Rhythm Of Invention, The
Album:Rhythm Of Invention, The Collection:Jazz
Artist:Wallace, Wayne Latin Jazz Quintet Added:Aug 2019
Label:Patois Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-08-21 Pull Date:2019-10-23 Charts:Jazz
Week Ending:Oct 27Oct 20Oct 13Oct 6Sep 29Sep 22Sep 15Sep 8

Recent Airplay
1.Sep 06, 2021:Hella Mixed Radio Hour (rebroadcast from Oct 3, 2019)
The Rhythm Of Invention
4.Oct 29, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
Vamanos Pa'l Monte, Take 5
2.Dec 10, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
The Rhythm Of Invention
5.Oct 22, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
All The Things You Are, Vamanos Pa'l Monte
3.Nov 12, 2019:Clean Copper Radio & Hot Topics
So Softly
6.Oct 21, 2019:Soul, Samples & Substitutions
The Rhythm Of Invention

Album Review
Tom McCarter
Reviewed 2019-08-11 
Reviewed: 2019-08-11
Genre: Jazz
FCCs: none
Review: Trombonist Wallace’s latest release features a dazzling set of new compositions and classic jazz standards (and even one impressive mashup) on which Wallace uses the expanded sonic palette of an orchestra to highlight the strengths of his core conjunto. Undergirding it all is an effortlessly instructive survey of Latin rhythms, from the familiar to the arcane,
If You Like: Arturo O’Farrill, Luis Bonilla, Willie Colon
Track Review (favorites denoted by *):
***1/ Vamanos Pa’I Monte (6:56) – drums/percussion start> uptempo jam> piano solo> trombone solo> uptempo jam> quick stop
*2/ Take 5 (5:38) – percussion starts> uptempo jam> sax solo> trombone solo mixed with chanting> uptempo jam> jam with chanting to fade
3/ All The Things You Are (6:18) – strings start> midtempo jam> trombone solo> midtempo jam slows briefly, then swings back up> uptempo jam> slow fade
4/ So Softly (7:54) – cymbals start> drum solo> midtempo jam> piano solo> uptempo jam> slow fade
*5/ The Rhythm Of Invention (8:42) – percussion starts with male rap poem> uptempo jam> trombone solo> uptempo jam with rap poem over the top> wild trombone solo> crescendo> uptempo jam> fade
6/ In A Mist (4:52) – piano starts> midtempo jam> trombone solo> midtempo jam with strings> piano solo> trombone solo> midtempo jam> quick fade
*7/ El Arroyo (5:26) – drums/horns start> midtempo jam> trombone solo> midtempo jam> piano solo> midtempo jam> quick stop> pause> midtempo jam> quick stop
**8/ Se Me Cayo El Veinte (6:02) – horns start hesitatingly> uptempo jam> trombone solo> percussion solo> uptempo jam> percussion solo> uptempo jam> quick stop
9/ Atardecer Matancero (5:19) – horns start> slow jam>so piano solo swings uptempo> uptempo jam> fade
***10/ Mi Descarga (4:36) – drums start> uptempo rocking jam> trombone solo> piano solo>bass solo> uptempo jam with chorus singing> percussion solo> uptempo jam> crescendo end

Track Listing
1.Vamanos Pa'l Monte 6.In A Mist
2.Take 5 7.El Arroyo
3.All The Things You Are 8.Se Me Cayo El Viente
4.So Softly 9.Atardecer Matancero
5.The Rhythm Of Invention 10.Mi Descarda