Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Tacocat / This Mess Is A Place
Album:This Mess Is A Place Collection:General
Artist:Tacocat Added:11/2019
Label:Sub Pop Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2019-11-09 Pull Date:2020-01-11 
Week Ending:12 Jan5 Jan29 Dec22 Dec15 Dec8 Dec1 Dec24 Nov

 Recent Airplay
1.Jul 10, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
New World
4.Jan 10, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
New World
2.Jan 17, 2020:PWR Alto Power Hour
Meet Me At La Palma
5.Jan 09, 2020:I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
New World
3.Jan 17, 2020:KZSU Time Traveler
New World
6.Jan 08, 2020:The Fuzz Deli
Grains Of Salt

Album Review
Christian Badillo
Reviewed 2019-11-13 
This Mess Is A Place

Tacocat’s third album is very similar to their previous indie-rock/surf pop albums (especially Lost Time). All of these songs are solid, but I’d suggest the unique ones that push their soundaries (sound boundaries).

Recommended: 3, 9, 10
FCC’s: 3
RIYL: Slothrust, Charly Bliss, The Frights

1. Hologram (3:47) *** - Medium tempo with drums developing each verse.
2. New World (2:55) *** - Fast and loud, similar to Bridge to Hawaii off their previous album.
3. Grains of Salt (3:54) **** - Almost like dancing in to 80’s pop with a Tacocat flair. FCC (Fuck).
4. The Joke of Life (3:19) *** - More upbeat and loud vibes with some added melisma. Vocals go high at the end.
5. Little Friend (3:18) *** - Grungy chorus guitars are juxtaposed with clean surf pop verses. Lax vocals and predictable drum fills.
6. Rose-Colored Sky (3:51) *** - Lots of toms and muted guitar.
7. The Problem (2:18) ** - Fast tempo with quiet bridges.
8. Crystal Ball (3:34) *** - More quiet bridges and medium tempo instrumentals.
9. Meet Me At La Palma (2:38) **** - Getting drunk on the beach would go well with this song. Or vice versa.
10. Miles and Miles (2:54) **** - Unique 3/4 time signature with arpeggiated guitar and slow beat that keep you interested and relaxed for a long day of traveling. Sustained guitar strum at the end.

Track Listing
1.Hologram 6.Rose-Colored Sky
2.New World 7.The Problem
3.Grains Of Salt 8.Crystal Ball
4.The Joke Of Life 9.Meet Me At La Palma
5.Little Friend 10.Miles And Miles