Belle and Sebastian / A Bit Of Previous
Album: A Bit Of Previous   Collection:General
Artist:Belle and Sebastian   Added:May 2022
Label:Matador Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-05-11 Pull Date: 2022-07-13
Week Ending: Jul 10 Jul 3 Jun 26 Jun 19 Jun 12 Jun 5 May 29 May 22
Airplays: 3 1 3 1 2 5 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Young And Stupid
4. Sep 17, 2022: Music Casserole
Deathbed Of My Dreams
2. Jan 02, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Unnecessary Drama
5. Sep 06, 2022: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants
Prophets In Hand
3. Sep 23, 2022: KZSU Time Traveler
Young And Stupid
6. Aug 31, 2022: Hanging In The Bone Yard
If They're Shooting At You

Album Review
Francis D
Reviewed 2022-05-08
“A Bit Of Previous” Belle and Sebastian
Tenth album from the Glasgow, Scotland-based band. A solid collection of Brit pop rock — with guitar, synths, great bass lines, hooky melodies and meaningful insights in the lyrics. Frontman Stuart Murdoch has a revealing, often wry take on life, and he and singer-songwriting partner, Sarah Martin, aren’t afraid to tackle hot topics ranging from making London’s streets safer for women at night to the conflict in Ukraine. One of the best indie bands with another outstanding album!
— Francis

Highly recommended: 1, 7, 6, 2, 4, 3, 10, 12.

1. (2:55) Young And Stupid — Bright, sunshine-y opener with propulsive strummed guitar. Reflection on the carefree days of youth. ****
2. (4:31) If They’re Shooting At You — Leisurely, soulful slide sounding like an old-timey, Burt Bacharach standard. Piano, horns, strong bass line and handclaps — plus rich, harmonized vocals. Proceeds from this song will go to support those affected by the Ukraine conflict. ***
3. (4:27) Talk To Me, Talk To Me — Up-tempo, snappy pop rock. Urgency in the lyrics, warning against wasting time in life. Full synths. Edgy guitar in lead break. ***
4. (3:13) Reclaim The Night — Feminist synth pop statement set over a stop-and-go rhythm. Sharp synth stingers. Vocals by Martin. Lyrics refer to the murder of Sarah Everard in South London in 2021. ***
5. (3:51) Do It For Your Country — Soft ballad with chimey synths, jangly guitars and sweet vocals. Like early Belle and Sebastian.
6. (4:47) Prophets On Hold — Uplifting synth-pop anthem with disco vibe, shimmering synths and plenty of hooks. Harmonica in lead break. ***
7. (4:17) Unnecessary Drama — Driving rock anthem. Lead single. Guitars and thumping drums, with soulful harmonica embedded. ****
8. (3:55) Come On Home — Throwback soft jazz. Lightly tripping and bouncy, with tinkling electric piano, synths and horns. Murdoch sings the first verse, while Martin takes the second. Lush backing vocals as well.
9. (3:03) A World Without You — Another lively pop tune featuring Martin’s silky vocals. Synth-driven with arpeggios throughout.
10. (3:48) Deathbed Of My Dreams — Unexpected shift to a slow alt-country waltz. Big reverbed guitar and vocals. Hint of pedal steel. Strings. Even a little whistling. Play if you love Scottish Americana. ☺ ***
11. (4:59) Sea Of Sorrow — Lilting, rolling, sad love song with full synth orchestral backing.
12. (4:16) Working Boy In New York City — Easygoing, warm and reassuring stroll. Piano, guitar, busy bass line, solid backbeat and handclaps. Nice backing vocals. ***

Track Listing
1. Young And Stupid   7. Unnecessary Drama
2. If They're Shooting At You   8. Come On Home
3. Talk To Me, Talk To Me   9. A World Without You
4. Reclaim The Night   10. Deathbed Of My Dreams
5. Do It For Your Country   11. Sea Of Sorrow
6. Prophets In Hand   12. Working Boy In New York City