Zookeeper Online

Find It!
Classic Search
Recent Reviews
DJ Zone!
Playlists by Date
Airplay Charts
Submit Music
Various Artists / Land Trust Benefit For NEFOC
Album:Land Trust Benefit For NEFOC Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists Added:06/2022

 Recent Airplay
1.Jun 23, 2022:Oh Messy Life
Never Was

Album Review
Reviewed 2022-06-20 
Punk rock guest-stars galore on this pandemic project from Erica Dawn Lyle and Vice Cooler. During the pandemic Erica (Miami, Allergic the Bullshit, Black Rainbow, current bass player for Bikini Kill) and Vice Cooler (XBXRX, Kit) wrote songs together remotely and then reached out for more collaborators. Each track features a different mix of guests, including Kim Gordon, Kathleen Hanna, The Linda Lindas, The Raincoats, and more.

Musically most songs are some form of punk rock, with styles and tempos changing from track to track. A few tracks are a more experimental (#4, #8). Proceeds from the project benefit the North East Farmers of Color, a land trust in the Pacific Northwest. Suggested tracks: #2, #4, #10, #15

FCCs #3, #7, #12

1. With Katie Alice Greer: Mid tempo, smooth/plaintive vocals.
2. With The Linda Lindas & Kathi Wilcox: short loud guitars, distorted vocal blasts, careens out of control, fun track.
3: With Kathleen Hanna. Solid rocker, sing songy vocal sections. FCC
4: With Kim Gordon. Powerful slow spoken vocals from Kim Gordon (remember Kool Thing from Sonic Youth?), intermittent electronic drum breaks, bursts of guitar noise.
5: With Alice Bag & Emily Retsas. Mid tempo rocker.
6: With Brontez Purnell . Slower 1950s rock ballad vibe.
7: With AH-MER-AH-SU. Slightly funky, dance punk vibe. FCC
8: With The Raincoats . Instrumental. Down tempo, minimal guitars over drumbeat and electronics.
9: With Rachel Aggs & Emily Retsas. Reverb-ey rocker, a bit of an 80s new wave vibe.
10: With Christina Billotte. Dissonant guitars, up-tempo quirky rock.
11: With Ali Carter & Emily Retsas. Reverb drenched vocals give this a goth-punk vibe.
12: With Louisahhh. Huge distorted beat, desperate shouted vocals. FCC
13: With Kelley Deal, Emily Retsas & Sarah Register. Uptempo rocker, distorted vocals, a slightly more pop vibe.
14: With Satomi Matsuzaki. Chirpy indie guitars, soft sung vocals.
15: With Ivy Jeanne & Mike Watt. Uptempo rock with the always amazing soulful vocals of Ivy Jeanne.
16: With Palberta, Anne Wood & Emily Retsas. Crinkly guitars, soft sung vocals, gentler vibe overall.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Katie Alice GreerDecoder Ring
2.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ The Linda Lindas & Kathi WilcoxLost In Thought
3.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Kathleen HannaMirrorball
4.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Kim GordonDebt Collector
5.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Alice Bag & Emily RetsasSoul Fire Farm
6.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Brontez PurnellThe Immortals
7.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ AH​-​mer​-​ah​-​suCan't Fight Me
8.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ The RaincoatsAGAVE
9.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Rachel Aggs & Emily RetsasBreak A Window
10.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Christina BillotteFlashes of Knowing
11.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Ali Carter & Emily RetsasCracks In The Ceiling
12.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ LouisahhhStar Fuck
13.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Kelley Deal, Emily Retsas & Sarah RegisterBodies
14.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Satomi MatsuzakiPS Forever
15.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Ivy Jeanne & Mike WattNever Was
16.Erica Dawn Lyle & Vice Cooler W/ Palberta, Anne Wood & Emily RetsasHearing Myself Again