Dania / Voz
Album: Voz   Collection:General
Artist:Dania   Added:Oct 2022
Label:Geographic North  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-02-17 Pull Date: 2023-04-21 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Apr 16 Apr 9 Mar 26 Mar 12 Mar 5 Feb 19
Airplays: 1 1 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 29, 2023: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
4. Apr 04, 2023: Exploring the ul-A file
An Individual
2. Apr 27, 2023: Oh Messy Life
I Lied
5. Mar 21, 2023: Virtually Happy
Fire Dash
3. Apr 11, 2023: Sound Wheels
I Lied
6. Mar 11, 2023: Music Casserole
The Other Thing Is

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-01-22
Grand and suspenseful vocal explorations accompanied by synth, piano, and more. This is the solo work of Dania Shihab, who is based in Barcelona and runs the label Paralaxe Editions. These pieces are crisp and harmonically rich, with textures of luminous beauty kept on edge by hiccup-like jumps in Shihab's vocal loops. RIYL Ana Roxanne, Grouper, Karima Walker, Julianna Barwick, Sarah Davachi, Arushi Jain, Ian William Craig. Favorites: 1, 5, 7. No FCCs detected.

1. *(4:15)-One vocal loop becomes two, a low synth drone intensifies underneath.
2. (3:38)-Busier, with drones, pulsing notes, insect-like synth sounds, and what sounds like Shihab sounding out individual letters.
3. (2:27)—Whooshing sounds. Low woodwind?
4. (4:00)—Maximal interpretation of whale song, starts grainy and adds several layers of synth.
5. *(3:21)—Smeary vocal textures, glassy sounding, smooth but severe.
6. (3:02)—Choppy piano with reverb, sampled and faded conversation sound, bass drone.
7. *(2:32)—Grand vocal chorus with high harmony loop.

Track Listing
1. I Lied   4. Whale Song
2. Aleph   5. An Individual
3. Fire Dash   6. The Other Thing Is
  7. Anomaly