Camp Cope / Running With the Hurricane
Album: Running With the Hurricane   Collection:General
Artist:Camp Cope   Added:Oct 2022
Label:Run For Cover  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2022-11-09 Pull Date: 2023-01-11
Week Ending: Jan 15 Jan 8 Jan 1 Dec 11 Dec 4 Nov 27 Nov 20 Nov 13
Airplays: 2 2 1 1 2 1 3 2

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 15, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
4. Jan 28, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
2. Mar 20, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Sing Your Heart Out
5. Jan 13, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Sing Your Heart Out
3. Feb 18, 2023: Hanging In The Boneyard
Sing Your Heart Out
6. Jan 13, 2023: KZSU Time Traveler
Running With the Hurricane

Album Review
Mr. Bones
Reviewed 2022-10-17
In this third release, 'Cope trades their edgy, anti-misogynist punk fury for a gentle & introspective look at love, relationships and the human condition with band lead Georgia Maq commenting to NPR that they "refused to let the world harden us". Having used the Covid shutdown to retrain her voice (while working as a nurse), her vocals are more captivating than ever. Whether singing about living life to the fullest (title track) or being jealous over her lover's dog (Jealous), the common denominator is Maq's aching vocals underscored by Kelly-Dawn Hellmrich lyrical bass riffs and Sarah Thompson's powerful drumming.

FCC: None detected

RIYL: London Grammar, Waxahatchee, Courtney Barnett

1 Caroline - glorious vocals soaring over sumptuous bass & guitar (med, 3:58)**

2 Running with the Hurricane - fast with beautiful layered harmonies (fast, 4:15)***

3 One Wink at a Time - soft vocals intertwined with gentle bass & horns (slow, 3:26)**

4 Blue - twangy, about the anxieties of starting a new relationship (med, 3:06)

5 The Screaming Planet - lovely harmonies over soft guitar (slow, 4:01)***

6 Love Like You Do - slow with prominent bass (slow, 3:25)

7 Jealous - jealous about a lover's dog with nice harmony vocals (fast, 3:35)*

8 The Mountain - uptempo with nice piano backing (med, 3:32)

9 Say The Line - nice backing vocals from the band & soaring high notes from Maq (med, 3:45)*

10 Sing Your Heart Out - opens with divine soft piano ballad building to full bore rocker (slow->fast, 3:53)***

Track Listing
1. Caroline   6. Love Like You Do
2. Running With the Hurricane   7. Jealous
3. One Wink At A Time   8. The Mountain
4. Blue   9. Say The Line
5. The Screaming Planet   10. Sing Your Heart Out