Ahmed, Ilyas / A Dream Of Another
Album: A Dream Of Another   Collection:General
Artist:Ahmed, Ilyas   Added:Oct 2023
Label:Geographic North  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2023-10-22 Pull Date: 2023-12-24
Week Ending: Dec 3 Nov 19 Nov 5 Oct 29
Airplays: 1 2 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 13, 2024: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
A Dream of Something
4. Dec 02, 2023: Buford J. Sharkley Presents: As Told to Hervey Okkles
Twice the Memory
2. Dec 30, 2023: Music Casserole
A Dream of Something
5. Nov 18, 2023: Music Casserole
Nasty Man
3. Dec 26, 2023: Sound Wheels
Little Devil
6. Nov 16, 2023: Oh Messy Life
Little Devil

Album Review
DJ Away
Reviewed 2023-10-15
Lovely, desolate, low-lit instrumentals centered on electric guitar and piano. Melodically rich, dreamy, minimal but hazy like a J. M. W. Turner painting, a little gothic. Ahmed, born in Pakistan and based in Portland, has also collaborated with Liz Harris (Grouper) and Jefre Cantu-Ledesma and plays in the instrumental psych-rock band Grails. RIYL Grouper, The Durutti Column, This Mortal Coil, Loren Connors. Favorites: 2, 6, 7. No words, no FCCs.

1. (7:08)—Slow piano, distant bells, dissonant tones.
2. *(3:31)—Very slow, soft, melancholy guitars. Beautiful and heartbreaking.
3. (4:54)—Gentle dewdrop-like guitar, a little woozy.
4. (4:47)—Slow, simple drum machine. Pastoral, sparsely played guitar and piano.
5. (2:44)—Solo guitar unfurling into emptiness.
6. *(10:33)—Faraway wispy guitar, soft synths, nearly dubby bass tones. Simple, soothing ending.
7. *(3:16)—Gentle synth, underwater guitar and piano. Pillowlike, but with a sudden and slightly startling ending.

Track Listing
1. Etched in Smoke   4. Little Devil
2. Nasty Man   5. Waves
3. Twice the Memory   6. A Dream of Something
  7. Imagine There