Watts, Charlie / Jim Keltner Project
Album: Jim Keltner Project   Collection:General
Artist:Watts, Charlie   Added:Jun 2000
Label:Higher Octave Music  

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 06, 2013: Sunshine . . . in the Afternoon
Roy Haynes
3. Aug 26, 2008: Deep Fried and Sanctified
2. Jun 27, 2009: Deep Fried & Sanctified
4. Aug 17, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Art Blakey

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2002-12-18
Charlie Watts Jim Keltner Project
Drums and sounds from the Stones drummer Charlie Watts. Based upon a jam session with studio drummer/producer Jim Keltner, later instruments and samples were added to flesh out the sound into something that is somewhere between world beat dance music and experimental jazz. Songs are named after drummers, as homage although the styles don't necessarily reflect the actual style of the drummer--although the Art Blakey track is similar to his "Orgy in Rhythm" album. Some nice tracks here, check out 1, 2, 3, 6, and 7
1) *Boing-y drum sounds mixed with busy drum groove
2) *Strong tribal drumming with jungle sounds plus some flute sounds
3) *Asian flavors with violins and gongs, modern synthesizer sounds and beat.
4) Sparse, Synthesizer, distorted vocals, really long and loose
5) Up-tempo breakbeat with poppy electrosynthesizer and other samples
6) *Spaced out intro, drums fade in, then jumpin' jazz piano comes in for end
7) *Samba groove, mellow and musical
8) Many different world flavors with odd vocal sample and dance-y beat
9) Mellow and jazzy with a mix of african and R&B vocals
Tom Purcell, July 2000

Track Listing
1. Shelly Manne   5. Roy Haynes
2. Art Blakey   6. Max Roach
3. Kenny Clarke   7. Airto
4. Tony Williams   8. Billy Higgins
  9. Elvin Suite