Frazer, Paula / Indoor Universe
Album: Indoor Universe   Collection:General
Artist:Frazer, Paula   Added:Apr 2002
Label:Birdman Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Jun 16, 2009: Interim Special
Deep Was the Night
4. Nov 05, 2003: In the Leaves
The Only One
2. Aug 08, 2005: Stirling's Approximation
The Only One
5. Sep 25, 2002: Brownian Motion
The Only One
3. Dec 17, 2003: In the Leaves
Think of Me
6. Aug 14, 2002: Brownian Motion
Think of Me

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-06-05
Western Americana blended w/ Bacharach’esque pretty melodic pop. Tindersticks, Morricone, Carpenters. Paula has dumped the Tarnation, 4AD/Reprise moniker, lassoed some of SF’s finest players and refined her sound. Gone is the heavy reliance on “gothic western” yet elements remain (tracks 1,3,6,9-11), present are sweet pop tracks worthy of late 60’s transistor radio airplay (tracks 4, 5, 7, 8). One of the finest and perfect voices in music today, replete with hooks, harmonies, horns and Hammond. All great

1) minor Spanish flare w/ strings a la Tindersticks
2) upbeat dramatic sad
3) slower dramatic sad
4) upbeat almost cute perfect pop
5) like 4, cuter w/ clarinet
6) like 1
7) soulful wurlitzer blues pop
8) upbeat gleeful pop, trumpet
9) dramatic Morricone strings, marching snares, Nick Cave feel
10) mellow country waltz feel
11) beautiful sad dark yet upbeat western pop

Track Listing
1. That You Know   6. Stay As You Are
2. This Is a Song   7. Mean Things
3. Gone   8. Everywhere
4. Think of Me   9. Deep Was the Night
5. Not So Bad, but not So Good   10. We Met By the Love Lies Blee
  11. The Only One