Gay Dad / Transmission
Album: Transmission   Collection:General
Artist:Gay Dad   Added:May 2002
Label:Thirsty Ear Communication  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-04-07 Pull Date: 2003-06-09
Week Ending: May 4 Apr 27 Apr 20
Airplays: 1 1 2

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 16, 2020: Soul, Samples & Substitutions
Now Always and Forever
4. Aug 20, 2003: Bite and Hide
Shoot Freaks
2. Sep 20, 2016: Clean Copper Radio
Now Always and Forever
5. Apr 28, 2003: Play it by ear
6. Apr 23, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia

Album Review
Mandy Khoshnevisan
Reviewed 2003-08-07
Their sound is space rock: bright, with buzzy, bright guitars, high male vocals half in falsetto, electronic “cosmic” noises, and electric guitars and drums. This is an overall better album than their earlier Leisure Noise. They kind of sound like T-Rex, but in space. Basically every song is guitar/drums with windy “space” sounds soaring around in the background. Not genius lyrics, but not annoyingly bad.

1. Transmission—med/uptempo, guitar solo, lots of weird background noise and space noises and white noise, classic rock aesthetic
*2. Now Always and Forever—electronic over loud electric guitars, with video game melody and more space wind.
*FCC! 3. Nightclub—kazoo solo? bright guitar; lyrics mostly loudly spoken, not sung. Loud, raucous, chaotic sounding. FCC warning for one incidence of: “you’re so fuckin’ beautiful.”
4. Harder Faster—slower, with steady beat; lower sounds, with space wind blowing all around.
*5. Plane Going Down—slower, with steady drum beat and quieter vocals. Plaintive.
*6. All My Life—slow, slightly twangy guitar, reverb vocals. The love ballad.
7. Breathe—slow, with steady drum/tambourine beat and single voice; louder during chorus. Loud 80’s classic rock feedbacky guitar solo in middle.
8. Dinosaur—Upbeat; drums and guitars.
9. Shoot Freak—Upbeat; loud drums, and buzzy guitar towards middle. Filtered vocals
10. Keep it Heavy—Loud drums/guitars alternating with verses of floaty guitars, radio-tuning sounds, and echoing vocals.
*11. Everything Changes—floaty/instrumental at beginning; starts with lone pensive guitar; enter quiet drum beat and then single voice; brief shifts into heavy guitar. Loud toward end
*12. Promise of a Miracle—Loud, fast, buzzy quasi-spoken vocals, chaotic with lots of background noise. Short.

Track Listing
1. Transmission   7. Breathe
2. Now Always and Forever   8. Dinosaur
3. Nightclubs   9. Shoot Freaks
4. Harder Faster   10. Keep It Heavy
5. Plane Going Down   11. Everythiung Changes
6. All My Life   12. Promise