Various Artists / Vu Tribute
Album: Vu Tribute   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Jul 2002
Label:Victor Musical Industries  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-08-05 Pull Date: 2002-10-07
Week Ending: Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8
Airplays: 3 5 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 10, 2008: the joy 'n danny division
I'll Be Your Mirror
4. Oct 02, 2002: "In Your Ear..." Drafted For Nari's No Show Subbing For The Bawd
The Black Angel's Death Song, Sunday Morning, Gerard Says #2
2. Sep 27, 2003: between sports
She's My Best Friend
5. Sep 25, 2002: Lies, All Lies
Venus in Furs
3. Oct 03, 2002: Baptism of Solitude
6. Sep 25, 2002: Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Jesus, I'll Be Your Mirror

Album Reviews
Red West
Reviewed 2002-09-02
the Music Tapes track (All Tomorrows Parties) has some well played musical saw.
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-08-27
Various artist “tribute” to Velvet Underground, i.e. a bunch of famous and not-so-famous people doing VU covers. Some are true to original forms, others are more “out there”. A lot of familiar as well as more obscure choices for songs. All great, pick any. Japanese import w/ lot of foreign accents.

Disc 1
1) brief spoken comment
2) true to original
3) cute retro pop
4) noise element under ambient electro beat pop w/ slow phrased Japanese accented fem voc to this familiar beauty
5) jangly dirty pop, fem vocs
6) heavily compressed, true to form
7) cutesy pop, upbeat
8) biographical spoken snippet
9) true to original but w/ added synth sounds
10) loping ¾ psych easter feel, frenchy fem voc
11) mellow acoustic trippy feel, turns distorto noise mid way.

Disc 2:
1) fuzzy pop, true to form
2) ¾ stereolab space-age bachelor pad feel
3, 10) brief biographical dialog
4) upbeat psych, devolves into looping noise
5) true to form version of their epic classic
6) experimental feel: sparse piano intro, slow build w/ noise, disjunct piano
7) cute Japanese pop, cuddly
8) uupbeat rocker, instrumental, noisy
9) mellow pop, dark element, fem voc
11) disjunct, multi-faceted experimental feel to another classic

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Spoken Gerard Says
2. Zoobombs I'm Waiting for the Man
3. Of Montreal She's My Best Friend
4. Nakako Stephanie Says
5. Chicago Bass Heroin
6. Coil After Hours
7. Ladybug Transistor, the I Found a Reason
8. Spoken Gerard Says #2
9. Luminous Orange Sunday Morning
10. Smile Kick The Black Angel's Death Song
11. Pate Jesus
12. Swarm's Arm I'll Be Your Mirror
13. Spoken Gerard Says #3
14. John Mcentire Guess I'm Falling in Love/L
15. Jim O'rourke Venus in Furs
16. Tagomago The Murder Mystery
17. Honey Skoolmates Who Loves the Sun
18. Oivia Tremor Control, the European Son
19. Seagull Screaming Kiss Her Kis Candy Says
20. Spoken Gerard Says #4
21. Music Tapes, the All Tomorrow's Parties