Arto Lindsay / Invoke
Album: Invoke   Collection:General
Artist:Arto Lindsay   Added:Jul 2002
Label:Righteous Babe Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-08-26 Pull Date: 2002-10-28
Week Ending: Oct 6 Sep 29 Sep 22 Sep 15 Sep 8
Airplays: 2 2 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Dec 31, 2003: In the Leaves
Ultra Privileged
4. Oct 03, 2002: Baptism of Solitude
2. Jan 24, 2003: Input/Output
5. Oct 02, 2002: pressandrelease
You Decide
3. Nov 27, 2002: Fine Tuning Utopia
6. Sep 28, 2002: Morning GLory

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-08-20
Lindsay is a founding father of the No Wave scene/genre, leading the nyc band DNA in the 70’s. He has some kind of connection to Brasil and is responsible for turning crony David Byrne into a Brasil-o-phile. This said, this stuff is the perfect melding of abstract timings, offbeat dissonance, sexy electro samba beats, choice guitar work and Brasilian Portuguese, with mellow understated vocals. Every track amazing. Dripping with the sweet sweat of a carioca noite. Funky and jazzy and samba, yet completely contemporary and experimental. Tudo bem!!

1) slightly offbeat disjunct mellow electro feel w/ drop electro bass
2) heavy funky electro jazz feel w/ lyrics en Portuguese
3) more down tempo folky samba jazzy
4) mellow, somehow carribean, defies description, lovely
5) funky steppy mellow
6) funkier steppier w/ electro sounds mixed with samba jazzy guit
7) experimental feel, collage like, many sounds, layered voices, vocs
8) traditional folky brasilian pop in the fine tradition of Caetano Veloso, Milton Nascimento
9) electro feel, mellow
10) funky jazzy w/ a spy-dark element, en Portuguese
11) slow dark 4AD gothic feel w/ strings and minor key
12) acoustic guit+vocs, like track 8, turns Y2K2 electro sci fi samba momentarily toward end, super cool

Track Listing
1. Illuminated   7. In the City that Reads
2. Predigo   8. Delegada
3. Ultra Privileged   9. Uma
4. Over/Run   10. Clemency
5. Invoke   11. Unseen
6. You Decide   12. Beija Me