Xenakis, Iannis / Persepolis + Remixes Edition I
Album: Persepolis + Remixes Edition I   Collection:Classical
Artist:Xenakis, Iannis   Added:Sep 2002

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-10-14 Pull Date: 2002-12-16 Charts: Electronic
Week Ending: Nov 17 Nov 3 Oct 27 Oct 20
Airplays: 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 29, 2018: In Your Ear Radio - Still Waking Up but Here, in Radioland!
Persepolis Grm Mix, Remixes: Merzbow - Untitled
4. Jul 06, 2006: Cognitive Overload
Ryoji Ikeda: Per Se
2. Mar 06, 2010: Music Casserole
Persepolis Grm Mix
5. Dec 15, 2005: Baptism of Solitude
Otomo Yoshihide
3. Nov 10, 2009: "In Your Ear ..." with Bug, and there it is now play the beat.
Persepolis Grm Mix
6. Nov 13, 2002: Brownian Motion
Otomo Yoshihide

Album Review
Red West
Reviewed 2002-10-05
According to the liner notes, the original piece was 8 channels broadcast through 59 speakers (I bet the 60th blew a fuse!) Disc 1 is that piece mixed down to stereo- a slow fade in from silence, metallic screeches, processed traffic sounds, strings imitating scary alien birds, a broken carnival, slow gongs behind a noise curtain form a relative interlude, then more harsh sounds commemorate Iran's 2500th anniversary… why is it 60 mins instead of the original 56? It does say "original tapes and scores" so perhaps it's a trick of the performance. Disc 2 has shorter mixes from established and little-known names-
1.high pitched dissonant drones and bell-like sounds, builds to firey noise, quietens
2.digital damage, can't hear elements from the original
3.heavily flanged carnival & mechanical sounds, ends w/harsh feedback sounds
4.silent start, slightly audible ten seconds in, haunted house, skips & gets silent again around T-6:30, then rebuilds like a skipping disc and re-coheres
5.Like it says, glitchy. Yuck.
6.very quiet until halfway through, sounds like an underground station, slient end
7.another exercise in white noise dynamics & repetition
8.strange processing, putting the original thru various bad compressions, harsh clipping
9.haunted mansion

Track Listing
1. Persepolis Grm Mix   6. Remixes: Construction Kit - Glitchè
2. Remixes: Otomo Yoshihide - Untitled   7. Remixes: Francisco Lopez - Untitled 113 For Iannis Xenakis
3. Remixes: Ryoji Ikeda - Per Se   8. Remixes: Laminar - Whorl
4. Remixes: Zbigniew Karkowski - Doing By Not Doing   9. Remixes: Merzbow - Untitled
5. Remixes: Antimatter - Untitled   10. Remixes: Ulf Langheinrich - Untitled