De Moraes, Vinicius / Live in Buenos Aires
Album: Live in Buenos Aires   Collection:World
Artist:De Moraes, Vinicius   Added:Sep 2002
Label:Circular Moves  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-10-21 Pull Date: 2002-12-23 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Dec 8 Nov 10 Nov 3 Oct 27
Airplays: 2 1 1 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 11, 2020: Global Ginga
Voce Abusou, Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Voc
4. Nov 05, 2002: At the Cafe Bohemian
Que Maravilha
2. Dec 04, 2002: Fine Tuning Utopia
Samba Em Preludio
5. Oct 29, 2002: No Cover, No Minimum
Canto De Ossanha
3. Dec 03, 2002: No Cover, No Minimum
Canto De Ossanha
6. Oct 22, 2002: Trip Over Zero
Tomara (Ojala)

Album Review
Reviewed 2002-10-08
VINICIUS DE MORAES – Live in Buenos Aires
Circular Moves, 1970/2002

BRAZIL – As a founder of Bossa Nova and co-writer of many of that genre’s most famous songs, Vinicius (1913-1980) is the stuff of legend. These 1970 sessions (not really live, but studio re-creations of a Buenos Aires club date, with the original crowd noise dubbed in), have never before been released in the US, and have long been prized by collectors. The man himself and Maria Creuza double up on vocals, an interesting blend of rough and smooth textures, while the great guitarist “Toquinho” leads the backing quintet with crisp, nimble play.

Excellent music, but the second half is downright sleepy. Beware of talking at end of some tracks (esp. 2,10,15).

Fo’s Picks: 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 13, 14

01. happy little samba march
02. lovely intro; low-key and melancholy
03. sexy, with breathless vocal
04. mellow samba, very cute and playful
05. energetic classic, an informal feel
06. uptempo, surging, very good vocals
07. a bit of tropicalia pop by C. Veloso
08. dark-toned melody, upbeat chorus
09. “Girl from Ipanema,” quick & quiet
10. slow and sad, nice vocal duet work 2nd half
11. sad intro, then pensive, explodes at end
12. ballad for solo guitar, deep and moving
13. slow, with airy vocal, spoken duet 2nd half
14. gorgeous vocal, sleepy backing
15. another lullaby: fragile start, picks up later
16. relaxed but active, sing-along chorus

[Fo] - 10/8/02

Track Listing
1. Copa Do Mundo   9. Garota De Ipanema
2. A Felicidade   10. Samba Em Preludio
3. Tomara (Ojala)   11. Catende
4. Que Maravilha   12. Valsa Da Tunisia
5. Lamento no Morro   13. Eu Sei Que Vou Te Amar
6. Berimbau-Consolacao   14. Minha Namorada
7. Irene   15. Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Voc
8. Canto De Ossanha   16. Voce Abusou