Miller, Mulgrew / Sequel, the
Album: Sequel, the   Collection:Jazz
Artist:Miller, Mulgrew   Added:Oct 2002

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-12-16 Pull Date: 2003-02-17 Charts: Jazz

Recent Airplay
1. May 31, 2013: No Cover, No Minimum
Know Wonder
3. Aug 13, 2004: No Cover, No Minimum
Know Wonder
2. Nov 01, 2005: Eclectica: halloween and jazz: Jake Smolowe Interview
Go East Young Man

Album Review
Craig Matsumoto
Reviewed 2002-12-13
Mainstream jazz with an easy sound, reuniting pianist Miller with the band he founded 15 years go. (He's spent the last 7 years doing sideman gigs.)

Miller's adept and not flashy. Overally, this has a casual and friendly feel. It's good but a little slick -- the soprano sax (Steve Wilson) and vibes (Steve Nelson) get a bit cheesy at times.

1- Bright and cool midtempo.
2*- Midtempo, mellow, Vibes solo.
3*- Perky
4- Mellow
5**- Slow/mid with nicely mysterious chords, a coolly dark groove
6- Slow, delicate, cheesy
7- Bright; mostly a drum solo
8- Slow, romantic trio piece
9*- Shuffling midtempo
10- Mildly Latin. Upbeat; Miller turns to more bluesy chords in his solo.

Track Listing
1. Go East Young Man   6. Dreamsville
2. The Sequel   7. Spectrum
3. Elation   8. It Never Entered My Mind
4. Holding Hands   9. Just a Notion
5. Know Wonder   10. Samba D'blue