Various Artists / California Soul
Album: California Soul   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Ubiquity Records  

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 18, 2021: Some Songs Without Words
Party Time
4. May 29, 2008: The Courtesy Flush
Love and Affection
2. Mar 24, 2016: I Like to Dance: Shake Off Your Pants!
Party Time
5. Mar 02, 2008: demolition
Freaky (To You)
3. Aug 29, 2011: Soul Spectrum
Freedom Time
6. May 13, 2006: Biff Bang Pow
Feelin' Alright

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2002-11-05
California Soul
Rare groove soul. This is a collection of super obscure Soul, Funk, and Latin tunes from California groups.
1) Slow intro, smooth soul
2) Driving, down-tempo porno soundtrack with cheesed out synth
3) Up-tempo, hard driving piano hook
4) *Choppy Family Stone style funk
5) Guitar and flute, up-tempo proto-disco jazz
6) **Groovy, funky, mainly instrumental
7) **Rare groove classic, seriously spiritual slow soul
8) **Hard bluesy political funk
9) *Groovy slowed down cover
10) *Latin groove with lounge-y vibes
11) *Slow intro into medium cha-cha with a great break
12) Brassy, sassy female vocals
13) Mellow and jazzy featuring female vocals and piano
14) *Remix of track 2 by People Under the Stairs. These hip-hoppers update the sound by adding heavier drums.
Tom Purcell, November 2002

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Tillery, Linda Freedom Time
2. Sweet Stuff Freaky (To You)
3. Courtial Losing You
4. White, Ike Love and Affection
5. Rokk Patience
6. Porter, Roy Party Time
7. Kirkland, Mike James Hang on in there
8. Cool Sounds Where Do We Go From Here
9. West Coast Revival Feelin' Alright
10. Cool Benny Wobble Cha
11. Orquestra Esencia Carnival
12. Sons and Daughters of Lite A Real Thing
13. Sebastian, Adele Daydreamer
14. Sweet Stuff Freaky (To You)