Black Dice / Beaches and Canyons
Album: Beaches and Canyons   Collection:General
Artist:Black Dice   Added:Nov 2002
Label:Dfa Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2002-12-10 Pull Date: 2003-02-11 Charts: Classical/Experimental
Week Ending: Feb 9 Feb 2 Jan 26 Jan 19 Jan 12 Jan 5 Dec 29 Dec 22
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 3 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. May 13, 2017: Reckless Burning
Big Drop
4. Jun 12, 2007: Out of the Spring/Into the Nada/Redemption
The Dream Is Going Down
2. Nov 19, 2015: What was scene?
The Dream Is Going Down
5. May 15, 2007: Into The Nada
The Dream Is Going Down
3. Feb 01, 2009: Music to Make Babies To
Seabird, Things Will Never
6. Apr 03, 2005: Strange Attractor
Seabird, Things Will Never

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2002-11-25
Experimental noise collage, drone, interesting. Super cool, all tracks great. Reminiscent of Throbbing Gristle low-fi aspects, but way advanced. Nothing super harsh, certainly no new-age artiness. Just damn good noise collage.

1) synth loops, experimental feel, ambient noisy, after 2 min percussion enters along w/ various other tones and intensity builds but breaks into genuine experimental collage at 4 minutes, vaguely rhythmic, strange w/ subliminal voices, chanting
2) ambient melodic tones w/ aggressive white noise bursts, super cool and trippy, builds to drumming, pounding, yelling, tasteful noise drone
3) noisy collage, synth loops, buried indecipherable voice, Throbbing Gristle, builds and builds to a rhythmic pulse and beat
4) exotic world feel w/ flute and bells initially, synth drones, genuine low-fi drum beat enters after 5+ mins, synth/samples take lead, ends w/ lots of surf sounds, about 7 min, nice
5) almost song-like w/ crescendo drum beats almost noisey, long, shouting

Track Listing
1. Seabird, Things Will Never   3. Endless Happiness
2. The Dream Is Going Down   4. Big Drop