D.O.A. / Hardcore 81
Album: Hardcore 81   Collection:General
Artist:D.O.A.   Added:Feb 2003
Label:Sudden Death Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-02-24 Pull Date: 2003-04-28 Charts: Loud
Week Ending: Mar 30 Mar 23 Mar 9 Mar 2
Airplays: 1 2 3 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jul 03, 2006: knifefishhappyhour
Losers' Club
4. Mar 17, 2003: The Back Of The Class
Bloodsucker Baby
2. Feb 10, 2006: college radio!
Waiting for You, D.O.A.
5. Mar 17, 2003: the rust belt
The Kenny Blister Song
3. Mar 23, 2003: Sub for "Lift Jesus Higher"
6. Mar 08, 2003: On The Warpath

Album Review
Your Imaginary Friend
Reviewed 2003-02-19
Seminal early 80’s hardcore punk band from Vancouver. Re-release of great classic old record (title) plus EP “don’t turn yer back on desperate times (john peel session)”. These guys had “that sound” that was so important back then- todays ears might not appreciate how cool it was to hear bands like D.O.A., Bad Religion, Social D, Circle Jerks, Aggression, JFA play music like this (remember: the airwaves were clogged with Billy Squire, Pat Benetar, and Journey back then). Bands like Black Flag were pretty serious (especially post Henry) but this CD captures the fun element that D.O.A. injected into hardcore. The liner notes speak of them “inventing” the term hardcore, the genre, That’s highly arguable however they may have been the first “fun” hardcore band (see also The Vandals). When D.O.A. played everyone thrashing in the pit was smiling. These guys were just plain fun (and super nice too). Unfortunately, like all HC bands of the day, the recordings don’t come close to the live crunching wall of sound effect, especially the superhuman bomb-going-off drumming of one Chuck Biscuits. But its close enough for this century. Note: slight typos on the cd, track 13 from the record was omitted for whatever reason, and #13 is now “waiting for you”. Also, the EP is included in its entirety at the tail of the cd; it’s slightly more polished, more English Clash’esque, than west coast punk.

1) “theme” song, driving
2-3) LA pop boogie HC
4) silly brief jam
5) irreverent, silly with burps, FCC not too blatant
6) driving
7) silly Zep “cover”
8) its got “that sound”, driving LA punk
9) FCCs in chorus, avoid
10) silly brief interlude
11) more good pop boogie, FCC “shit!”
12) great song, some in-your-face FCCs though
13) upbeat
14) slower, more London than LA, play on mMay Day (worker issues)
15) upbeat, siren guit hook
16) melodic and song-like
17) slower swingy, wanky leads

Track Listing
1. D.O.A.   8. Losers' Club
2. Unknown   9. Fucked Up Baby
3. Slumlord   10. The Kenny Blister Song
4. Musical Interlude   11. Smash the State
5. I Don't Give a Shit   12. My Old Man's a Bum
6. M.C.T.F.D.   13. Bloodsucker Baby
7. Communication Breakdown   14. Waiting for You