Dub Syndicate / Murder Tone
Album: Murder Tone   Collection:Reggae
Artist:Dub Syndicate   Added:Apr 2003
Label:On-U Sound (Usa)  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-08-18 Pull Date: 2003-10-20 Charts: Reggae/World
Week Ending: Oct 26 Oct 19 Sep 7 Aug 31
Airplays: 1 2 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 24, 2011: New World Disorder
Night Train
4. Nov 30, 2005: BubbaDubba
2. Jun 12, 2010: New World Disorder
Backward Never
5. Oct 20, 2003: told ya so!
African Landing
3. Feb 15, 2006: The Dub Space
Reggae Raga
6. Oct 15, 2003: press and release
Let the Spirit Rise, African Landing

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-08-18
Mostly instrumental reggae-based dub. This material was recorded near Dub Syndicate’s heyday in the early 90s, though held back until now. There are some interesting touches on tracks featuring Bim Sherman’s voice and Talvin Singh’s Indian accents, not to mention the appearance of Lee Perry. Aside from these, the tracks are solid grooves with the dub chamber barrel of effects liberally applied and vocal samples sprinkled on top.

1. Solid groove
2. Bim Sherman’s clear and beautiful voice bounces in and out
3. Straight-ahead dub groove with the occasional recited vocal line
4. The indisputable highlight of this set – exactly what the title states – Reggae Raga; a mellow but space-y rhythm juxtaposed against a tanpura drone and swooping violin lines
5. Chukka-chukka
6. Sort of a happy-time tune
7. “Power, the REAL power … power … power” recited over massive bassline; “real power” is what that bass amp is consuming, dude
8. Pleasantly bouncy piano chords, lyrics about getting a proper education (i.e., an unofficial one)
9. Polite version of a song that has had much heavier treatments
10. Siren-like buzzing; still a bit polite
11. Flute(like) and bassline
12. Gilligan’s Dub Island?
13. Bit of tabla and phased trumpet but not really that interesting
14. Mighty chord progressions and shrill (but not overpowering) guitar noise
15. Sweet saxophone and melodica – a tribute to Augustus Pablo
16. Cheesy keyboard plinking but despite that, it’s sort of a pleasant tune
17. Lovely bass hook underneath the ethereal flute

Track Listing
1. African Landing   9. Night Train
2. Red Sea Version   10. Dub Violation
3. Let the Spirit Rise   11. Backward Never
4. Reggae Raga   12. Fucious
5. The Precinct of Sound   13. Bazooke
6. Empires Falling   14. Tremolo Dub
7. The Real Power   15. Radics
8. Lack of Education   16. Shorty
  17. Without Reservation