Xiu Xiu / A Promise
Album: A Promise   Collection:General
Artist:Xiu Xiu   Added:Apr 2003
Label:5 Rue Christine  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-05-05 Pull Date: 2003-07-07
Week Ending: Jul 6 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1 May 25 May 18 May 11
Airplays: 2 1 3 2 3 5 6

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 04, 2021: Sludge Music Show
Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl
4. Apr 10, 2007: Into the Nada
Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl
2. Aug 09, 2018: Homeroom
20,000 Deaths for Eidelyn Go
5. Feb 24, 2007: Biff Bang Pow
3. Feb 15, 2008: Lost and Found
6. Nov 07, 2006: What's in the Ice Box?
Apistat Commander

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-05-07
FUCK YEAH!!! The second full-length from San Jose suicide rockers, A Promise is truly an expression of the state of being sad and dangerous. With Jamie Stewart’s lyrics and voice leading the intensity and despair, most songs begin with quiet drum loops and are cathartically accented with noisy, twangy, harsh synth interludes. Amidst all the sarcasm and brutality, Xiu Xiu still manage to maintain a healthy pop aesthetic that only makes the climaxes even more effective. Perhaps too melodramatic for some, this is still really fucking great. Think also of The Cure, Arab Strap, Joy Division. 2, 4, 7, 1.

1. acoustic number with a great melodramatic chorus
2. begins w/ quiet beat + whispers, then cathartic noisy cure
3. sparse sounds, piano, calm voice; sudden last minute of noise
4. nostalgic & sweet with steady synth metallophones and beat
5. trebly, noisy synth and keys with mumbling voice
6. a quiet song. soft synth effects, cello, despairing vocals
7. catchy pop song with loud, twangy gamelan interlude. really great!
8. haunting, mid-tempo cathartic noise with drum machine
9. cover of tracy chapman! quiet acoustic + falsetto
10. warm strings with anguished, violent voice.

Track Listing
1. Sad Pony Guerrilla Girl   6. Sad Redux-O-Grapher
2. Apistat Commander   7. Blacks
3. Walnut House   8. Brooklyn Dodgers
4. 20,000 Deaths for Eidelyn Go   9. Fast Car
5. Pink City   10. Ian Curtis Wishlist