Various Artists / Flying Funk
Album: Flying Funk   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Bluebird Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-05-12 Pull Date: 2003-07-14
Week Ending: Jul 20 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29 Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8 Jun 1
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 1 3 2 1

Recent Airplay
1. Feb 07, 2022: Pumping Iron (rebroadcast from Jul 9, 2013)
This Is the Me Me
4. Nov 10, 2019: Soul, Samples & Substitutions
Mama, We Gettin' Down
2. Jul 22, 2020: Some Songs Without Words
Save Me
5. May 06, 2017: Stewed Down
Home Is Where the Hatred Is
3. Jan 12, 2020: Mix Tape
Happiness Is Just Around...
6. Nov 12, 2016: Music Casserole

Album Review
The Dead Kenny-Gs
Reviewed 2003-05-05
Flying Funk
Classic, semi-obscure funk. This time, they're plundering the vaults of the Flying Dutchman and RCA back catalog. This is one of two discs from this collection, this is the funkier and more up tempo of the two. Lots of tracks here are included because they were prominently sampled (tracks 4, 5, and 13 for example) or because they?re dance floor killers (tracks 3 or 5 for example). Nothing here is too rare or obscure, but they do represent several selections of canonical rare-groove.
1) **Catchy bass groove with vocals from the late Nina Simone
2) *Funky mid-tempo instrumental groove with horns
3) **Powerful up-tempo funk driven by furious bass and percussion
4) **Fuzzy mid-tempo groove, instantly familiar to fans of A Tribe Called Quest?s Award Tour
5) **Up-tempo pre-disco dance track, classic bass groove supported by congas and triangle, flowing synth, and high male vocals
6) **Gil Scott-Heron in song mode, soulful
7) *Dramatic, orchestral ballad with female vocals
8) **Sassy female vocals
9) **Interesting arrangement of Ike & Tina Turner hit, stripped down but still funky and up-tempo
10) *Jazzier, with the unfortunate use of soprano sax
11) *Mid-tempo fusion
12) **Female vocals over bluesy soul jazz
13) **Goofy jam, sampled often by De La Soul
14) Philly (TSOP) style soul, a little funkier
15) Pretty smoothed out stuff
16) *Up-tempo funky theme
Tom Purcell, May 2003

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Simone, Nina Save Me
2. Nite-Liters Afro Strut
3. Castor, Jimmy It's Just Begun
4. Irvine, Weldon We Gettin' Down
5. Smith, Lonnie Liston Expansions
6. Scott-Heron, Gil Home Is Where the Hatred Is
7. Marrow, Esther Mama
8. Loading Zone, the No More Tears
9. Simone, Nina Funkier than a Mosquito's...
10. Alexander, Harold Tite Rope
11. Smith, Lonnie Liston A Chance for Peace
12. Holmes, Richard 'groove' This Is the Me Me
13. New Birth, the Got to Get a Knutt
14. Main Ingredient, the Happiness Is Just Around...
15. Purdie, Bernard What's Going On?
16. Griffith, Johnny Plane of Illusion