Mooney Suzuki, the / Electric Sweat
Album: Electric Sweat   Collection:General
Artist:Mooney Suzuki, the   Added:Apr 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-14 Pull Date: 2003-09-15
Week Ending: Aug 17 Aug 3 Jul 27 Jul 20
Airplays: 1 2 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 27, 2004: Eclectica
Electric Sweat
4. Jul 30, 2003: Lethal Brownian Rejection
I Woke Up this Mornin'
2. Oct 02, 2003: Eclectica
A Little Bit of Love
5. Jul 30, 2003: press and release
Electric Sweat
3. Aug 15, 2003: Approximation Society
Electrocuted Blues
6. Jul 20, 2003: To the Moon
I Woke Up this Mornin'

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-06-26
The Mooney Suzuki are deserving of neither the deification nor the trashing that they regularly get. They play Ye Olde Time Rock And Rolle competently, combining simple structures, pleasing riffs, a singer who emotes well, lyrics that concern themselves with the fancies of a young man's heart, and production that indicates that they didn't want you, dear listener, to miss any of their finer moments due to unseemly noises . No more, no less - competent rocking combining 60s garage with a few 70s-style wanky guitar solos - like the MC5 but not at all revolutionary (in either sense of "revolutionary").

1. Nasty riffing, fast
2. Singalong about ... rocking and girls
3. Outright pop tune - big hook, simple chorus
4. Ripoff of the sound of the Saints to my ears, but then most of this genre at this point (and indeed, at the point in time when the Saints peaked) is shameless tributes/imitation, isn't it - swooping guitar and singing
5. Another poppy-leaning tune with bite
6. "Everyone needs honey / like a bird or bee"-level lyrics over a fast but unmemorable riff
7. Some organ in the riffing mix here, always a good thing in good-time-rocking music; lyrics limited to "Hey! Bring it on!"
8. Insistent pounding beat and cool guitar noise
9. The obligatory ballad just before the last song - seems perfunctory
10. God this is so hackneyed, but it sort of captures the essence of the album (minus vocals)

Track Listing
1. Electric Sweat   6. Natural Fact
2. In a Young Man's Mind   7. It's Showtime Pt Ii
3. Oh Sweet Susanna   8. I Woke Up this Mornin'
4. A Little Bit of Love   9. The Broken Heart
5. Int's not Easy   10. Electrocuted Blues