Robot Ate Me, the / They Ate Themselves
Album: They Ate Themselves   Collection:General
Artist:Robot Ate Me, the   Added:Apr 2003
Label:Swim Slowly Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-02 Pull Date: 2003-08-04
Week Ending: Jul 27 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 22 Jun 15 Jun 8
Airplays: 1 2 1 2 2 2

Recent Airplay
1. Oct 26, 2023: Pest Control
Tied to the Car
4. Jul 09, 2003: Fine Tuning Utopia
In the Brine
2. Oct 16, 2004: Pop Music Show
A Harp
5. Jul 08, 2003: lick my moody guitar
They Ate Themselves
3. Jul 24, 2003: sad and dangerous
Our Bones Were Chalk
6. Jul 01, 2003: The Lick My Moody Guitar Show
Sugar & My Rotted Teeth

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-06-04
Half indie pop songs and half sad acoustic songs make up this pretty decent album from these San Diego kids. Although mostly built around guitar and voice, the instrumentation varies nicely from song to song with keyboards, accordions, xylophones, drum machine, strings. Taste also varies from song to song, with the occasional shitty song disappointing an otherwise great flow. But because of some great moments in songwriting and a slight indie quirkiness that’s reflected instrumentally and vocally, the album is likely to appeal (in a vague way) to lovers of Pavement, the Microphones. While I can’t say I love this album to death, parts of it work really well!
1, 3, 14, 6, 12, 5.

1. percussive start, sad indie vox + xylophones. midtempo pop
2. drum machine, fuzz bass. most upbeat song here. not bad!
3. slow ¾ drum machine, screechy keys, harmonica, great whiny vox.
4. midtempo groove with keys, accordion, monotone vox.
5. just keys + falsetto, pathetic and cute. slightly out strings at end.
6. midtempo pop song. nice, pavement kind of pop quirkiness
7. raygun sounds, acoustic, bad voice. not successful, too serious.
8. guitar harmonics, falsetto voice. mellow but rhythmic. not bad.
9. short synth interlude
10. accordion, acoustic, xylophone. bad strummy guitar pop at end.
11. acoustic guitar + intimate voice. ok, but too singer-songwriter-y
12. slow, stagnant accordion, quiet drums, string screeches. great!
13. acoustic riff, storyteller feel. i like for some reason. quiet at 4:15
14. acoustic + cute, hoarse voice. great overdriven drums at end!
15. bad cheesy acoustic arpeggiation. No.
16. quiet. sad vox, acoustic, mysterious chimy synth in background.
17. short sad acoustic + voice, ambient sounds by 2:00

Track Listing
1. Our Bones Were Chalk   9. What It Felt Like to Fall
2. Tied to the Car   10. Everyone Was Still
3. They Ate Themselves   11. We Ate Each Other
4. Sugar & My Rotted Teeth   12. In the Brine
5. You Smile   13. What We Thought Was Fog
6. A Harp   14. Goodnight I Almost Died
7. After the War   15. They Kille Dyou
8. Kept Our Hands Warm   16. So We Stopped
  17. You Died