New Pornographers / Electric Version
Album:Electric Version Collection:General
Artist:New Pornographers Added:May 2003
Label:Matador Records 

A-File Activity
Add Date:2003-06-09 Pull Date:2003-08-11 
Week Ending:Aug 10Aug 3Jul 27Jul 20Jul 13Jul 6Jun 29Jun 22

Recent Airplay
1.Nov 18, 2022:The Great British Breakfast
The Laws Have Changed
4.Jul 08, 2011:Wee Animalcules
From Blown Speakers
2.Feb 04, 2012:The Groove Machine
From Blown Speakers
5.Jun 03, 2011:The DJ Never Has It
Testament to Youth in Verse
3.Oct 01, 2011:Post-Football Short Set
The Laws Have Changed
6.Mar 29, 2011:Indie English
July Jones

Album Review
Eric K!
Reviewed 2003-06-01 
_Electric Version_ is the second release from the Canadain power-pop supergroup, The New Pornographers. The New Pornographers feature Carl Newman (of Zumpano), Dan Bejar (of Destroyer), and the inimitable Neko
Case. _Electric Version_ is a very solid album of hooky, clever. power-pop. Everything on here is catchy, upbeat, and fun.
For better or for for worse, _Electric Version_ is not a repeat of the New Pornographer's debut _Mass Romantic_. _EV_ is a much more polished album, but it also missing a lot of the odd arrangements and production
touches that made _Mass Romantic_ such a gem.
Stand-out tracks: 12!, 6, 2, 3, 4, 9

1. Insistent, with Carl's falsetto vocals. Neat keyboards and a wonderful chorus.
2. Great dramatic track with instantly memorable chorus, weird synths
3. Neko sings! Quirky keyboard, noisy guitars, driven. Great groove.
4. Crunchy keyboard-driven track. Noisy break in the middle of the song. Noisy outtro that just dissolves.
5. Bowie-informed track with unnerving keyboard groove. Kinda aimless.
6. Dan sings this classic track. Glammy male vocals. Background "ooh-ooh"'s. Male vocals, Neko sings on chorus.
7. Driving track with Neko vocals.
8. Crunchy track with oddly detached vocals.
9. Glammy, clever. Dan attempts a sad and meaningful song about listening to the radio.
10. Hard-rocking, lots of good ideas in the jam near the end, but somehow the song doesn't click.
11. Gentler, lyrics (when they can be understood) seem a little more meaningful. Bowiesque.
12. Weird, majestic with a detached, otherworldy dub reggae feel.
13. Neko back in her Belinda-Carlisle-as-a-robot mode! Cute lyrics.

Track Listing
1.The Electric Version 6.Testament to Youth in Verse
2.From Blown Speakers 7.It's Only Divine Right
3.The Laws Have Changed 8.Ballad of a Comeback Kid
4.All for Swinging You Around 9.July Jones
5.The New Face of Zero and One 10.Miss Teen Wordpower