Monade / Socialisme Ou Barbarie
Album: Socialisme Ou Barbarie   Collection:General
Artist:Monade   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Drag City  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-06-23 Pull Date: 2003-08-25
Week Ending: Aug 17 Jul 27 Jul 13 Jul 6 Jun 29
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 14, 2010: Lyric Ballads/Spider Rave
Vent Du Sud
4. Jul 23, 2003: Arabian Nights
Cache Cache
2. Jan 02, 2010: Scatterbrain Radio
Graine De Beaute, La Carotte De L'humanite
5. Jul 09, 2003: Arabian Nights
Enfin Seule
3. Aug 14, 2003: Civil Society
Cache Cache
6. Jul 07, 2003: Fly By Night
Un Secret Sans Importance

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-06-12
Home recordings from the voice and one of the chief songwriters of Stereolab, Laetitia Sadier. Her distinctive alto vocals are here, as are the lyrical concerns personal and social (n.b., the album's title), as are the hummable melodies. And a couple of 'labbers plus a couple of Pramsters fill out the sound a bit. What's different? Well, obviously, the arrangements are much simpler, giving the album a much more intimate feel, which is, of course, the point of bedroom recordings. The simple rhythm box rhythms betray the influence of Young Marble Giants. Also, there are more French songs. Overall, the mellow comedown from a hyper-catchy 'lab album.

1. Appropriately titled "Finally Alone", this is a somber song with a sort of nice horn part
2. The sad reedy melodica is such a nice accent on this fuzzy melody
3. Short, simple Casiotone tune
4. Slow, loping, mellow cowboy-song guitar rhythm, thin vocals, queasy synth blaaaaaarp
5. Somewhat distracting unison of vocals and guitar lines, but the organ and cello (sounds) in the background are a distraction from that distraction
7. Beautiful instrumental waltz
8. Warbly ballad
9. Jolly fine but short instrumental
11. Thumpy, stalking rhythm alternates with lightly strummed electric guitar; may induce dreams of placid Proven├žal summer mornings
12. More of the sweet strumming; Sadier finally (almost) belts out a vocal instead of her usual detached style

Track Listing
1. Enfin Seule   7. Sunrise Telling
2. Cache Cache   8. Vol De Jour
3. Vent Du Sud   9. La Carotte De L'humanite
4. Un Secret Sans Importance   10. Graine De Beaute
5. Witch Hazel   11. Ode to a Keyring
6. Un Express   12. The Swimm