Everett, Mark Oliver / Music From the Film "Levity"
Album: Music From the Film "Levity"   Collection:General
Artist:Everett, Mark Oliver   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Studio Canal  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-07-21 Pull Date: 2003-09-22
Week Ending: Sep 21 Aug 24 Aug 3 Jul 27
Airplays: 1 1 1 3

Recent Airplay
1. Sep 18, 2003: Civil Society
Haunted Piano #1
4. Jul 24, 2003: Civil Society
Haunted Subway #1
2. Aug 22, 2003: 15 Miles til Sunday
To Adel Easley/Trouble in Th
5. Jul 24, 2003: Off the Path
To Adel Easley/Trouble in Th
3. Jul 28, 2003: Fly By Night
Haunted Organ #1
6. Jul 21, 2003: Radio Red Well
Haunted Subway #1

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-06-26
What a slippery character this M.O. Everett is. Halfway through its running time, I was getting ready to dismiss this album as a moody piece that, if it works with its movie (it is a soundtrack), should have stayed in the theater (as if not releasing such tie-ins were plausible in this day). Then suddenly, the music became very compelling. I don't know if there's a corresponding turning point in the film, but damn, the second half of this album is good mood music, not just background.

1. Hazy drone
2. Scratchy-throated ballad
3. Little violin and piano sadness
4. Reverby but quiet guitar
5. Slow, quiet piano
6. Soft tension
7. Male and female quiet vocals
8. Chimes and low buzzy drone
9. More slow, quiet piano tinklings
10. Short guitar interlude
11. Heavenly vibrato electric piano chords and a distant cello
12. Little, strummy guitar solo with humming
13. A more robust guitar-chord-and-humming song which turns into a couple of gentle swarm-like crescendos; the best mood-setter here
14. Anticlimactic but pretty acoustic guitar

Track Listing
1. What I Remember Most   8. Flashback Blues
2. Skywriting   9. Post-Flashback Blues
3. Running the Bath   10. Lonesome Subway
4. Gravity   11. Haunted Organ #1
5. Haunted Piano #1   12. Sofia Writing in the Sky
6. In Manual's Room   13. To Adel Easley/Trouble in Th
7. Taking a Bath in Rust   14. Manual's Got a Train to Catc