Swirlies, the / Cats of the Wild Volume Two
Album: Cats of the Wild Volume Two   Collection:General
Artist:Swirlies, the   Added:Jun 2003
Label:Bubble Core Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-08-25 Pull Date: 2003-10-27
Week Ending: Oct 19 Oct 12 Oct 5 Sep 28 Sep 21 Sep 14 Sep 7 Aug 31
Airplays: 1 4 4 3 5 3 2 3

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 26, 2016: a strange pursuit
One Light Flashing I Love Yo
4. May 20, 2008: At Your Local Dive
2. Feb 27, 2010: Music Casserole
Rare Moment
5. Jul 29, 2005: Distraction-Limited
One Light Flashing I Love Yo
3. Mar 01, 2009: The Sonic Bubble
6. May 19, 2004: in the leaves
One Light Flashing I Love Yo

Album Review
Reviewed 2003-08-27
THIS IS WONDERFUL! Everything about this album is endearing – the instrumentation, the voices, the songwriting, the album art. The Swirlies have a well-balanced pop appreciation for noise, quirky sounds, and melancholy. Somehow, this album has a classic familiar indie sound but is refreshing at the same time. Sounds range from sweet indie ballads like the Magnetic Fields to noisy My Bloody Valentine to wandering journeys of lo-fi noodling. Great – I love this! 1, 3, 5, 6, 7

1. sweet pop song w/ keyboards, boy/girl vocals, marching drums
2. nice noisy intro a la sebadoh, then becomes dreamy noisy pop
3. wandering garagy psych plate-reverb guitars
4. hard strummed guitar, male vox, and lo-fi sounds.
5. great hard noisy sound, very much akin to my bloody valentine
6. midtempo groove w/ melancholic indie boy vocals, trashy guitars
7. quiet beautiful lo-fi plucky percussion sounds under male vox
8. nothing
9. nothing
10. nothing
11. electronic doodling, then repetitive rolling pop song, then harder groove at end, then voice samples

Track Listing
1. One Light Flashing I Love Yo   6. Rare Moment
2. Give Us Moon Rocks!   7. Little Tail
3. Le Bag   8. Untitled
4. Indian Ocean Nose Dive   9. Untitled
5. Sleepytime   10. Untitled
  11. Cats of the Wild Forever