Von Bondies, the / Raw and Rare
Album: Raw and Rare   Collection:General
Artist:Von Bondies, the   Added:Sep 2003
Label:Dim Mak  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-27 Pull Date: 2003-12-29
Week Ending: Dec 28 Dec 21 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 16 Nov 9 Nov 2
Airplays: 1 1 1 1 2 6 5

Recent Airplay
1. Mar 04, 2009: public noize racket
Lack of Communication
4. Dec 24, 2003: A Christmas Eve Special
Vacant As a Ghost
2. Aug 12, 2006: What's in the Icebox?
Save My Life
5. Dec 17, 2003: Stirling's Approximation
Save My Life
3. Oct 27, 2005: Lost and Found
Save My Life
6. Nov 25, 2003: The Digital/Analog War
Lack of Communication

Album Review
Elias (Dr Furious)
Reviewed 2003-10-15
The real deal! The MEANEST TAKE-NO-PRISONERS GARAGE ROCK sound around. Hailing from Detroit and under Jack White's wing, the Von Bondies are gaining momentum year after year. Their powerful sound carries the Detroit flag from the MC5-esque soaring vocal attacks and slashy guitars to the Stoogesque bad ass guitar/bass line. Add a few rockabilly touches (the Cramps), a southern flavor in vocals and lyrics, a bit of Guitar Wolf-like psychosis, and you have an awesome garage band. Shitloads of fuzz and noise to boot. The female presence of Macie Bolan and Carrie Smith on the guitar and bass respectively give an entire different mystique to this band. This LP is all recorded live; a living testimony to the power of the Von Bondies' sound.

PLAY: 11, 12, 1, 10, 5, 11, 4, 14

1. Apocalyptic, raging, epic, mean, the Stooges.
2. Swinging, noisy, fuzzy.
3. Surfy garage number
4. Ripping groove. Nice female backing vox.
5. Loud, fast, garage punker (see Guitar Wolf)
6. Swinging bass-guitar line. Female Vox. Bluesy solos.
7. Rockabilly, boogie. Punk out at guitar solos.
8. Mid-tempo. Repetitive riff. Quiet. Hypnotic.
9. Rock'n'roll number. Female backing vocals. Ripping bass line.
10. Wow! Hand claps. Sky rocketing drilling groove and rhythm. Fast and loud.
11. Rock'n'roller. Cathcy! Backbeat. Polished. The Fleshtones meet Sahara Hotnights.
12. This makes me think... MC5
13. Mid tempo (see 8)
14. Spacy, noisy post-punker.
15. See #5. Same track different version

Track Listing
1. Lack of Communication   8. R&R Nurse
2. Nite Train   9. Please Please Man
3. Sound of Terror   10. Vacant As a Ghost
4. Going Down   11. Save My Life
5. It Came From Japan   12. Cryin'
6. My Baby's Cryin'   13. Take a Heart
7. Cryin'   14. Unknown
  15. It Came From Japan