Monolith, the / Here Comes the Monolith
Album: Here Comes the Monolith   Collection:General
Artist:Monolith, the   Added:Oct 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-10-13 Pull Date: 2003-12-15
Week Ending: Dec 14 Nov 30 Nov 23 Nov 9 Nov 2 Oct 26 Oct 19
Airplays: 2 1 2 2 4 4 3

Recent Airplay
1. Aug 05, 2006: What's In the Icebox
Dandelion Storm
4. Jan 01, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Black Box Recorder
2. Jan 22, 2004: 15 Miles til Sunday - Special Guest Night
5. Dec 31, 2003: Stirling's Approximation
3. Jan 15, 2004: 15 Miles til Sunday
10 X Infinity
6. Dec 10, 2003: press and release

Album Review
Katie P.
Reviewed 2003-09-23
The Monolith "Here Comes The Monolith" - Three local kids doing the cute pop thing. At the base they've got nice guitar, bass, and organ, but the vocals are what really add to this. They alternate between female and male leads but it's always smooth, lush, and heavily layered. They also give a nod to the orchestrated pop music of the Beatles and Beach Boys from back in the day adding in strings and horns here and there. The orchestration works really well too. It doesn't feel unnecessary or out of place but really adds to the mood. This was fun and would be a good pick for anyone wanting some sweet sugary pop music.
My Picks: 1, 3, 4, 8
Katie P. 9/23/03

1) Nice fast midtempo bounce. Ooo, great organ on this. Pretty catchy and fun. Very pretty female vocals are layered with harmonies and everything.
2) Slower midtempo. Again nice layered vocals. Mostly male vocals with female backups. Horns in this one. Lots of instruments throughout.
3) Fast midtempo with some dirty organ and smooth vocals. Has a nice bouncy feel to it. A short guitar solo brings it to an abrupt end.
4) Cool organ again. Solid midtempo. Cute little love song, but a little sad. Nice layering of vocals. Solid rocking guitars. Fun catchy pop.
5) Slower with fully orchestrated strings. Dragging midtempo. This is a really pretty and lush song. Weird guitar solo over the strings. Slowly fades out with the strings.
6) Acoustic guitar fingering. Slow midtempo with smooth vocal layers on top. This is soft and intimate feeling. Weird lyrics that are a little creepy.
7) Solid midtempo with heavy bass. Male vocals with female backup harmonies. This one feels a little less like a 60's pop song and more like 80's rock/pop.
8) Slower and dragging with spacey sounding guitar. Guitar has lots of vibrato and there are some spacey organ sounds here and there. Nice organ solo in there and as usual the vocals are smooth and sweet. Strings are added in for a nice effect. Ends abruptly.
9) Soft guitar and vocals. Really nice vocal layers. Then harder guitar and drums come in and we move onto the second song in the set. It's louder, faster and has horns and electric guitar. Then guitar comes in again and slows it down to the third song. Some more instruments are layered in along with vocals. Songs builds up and then fizzles out at the end.

Track Listing
1. 43   5. Ruby
2. Heart Like a Diamond   6. Impossible You
3. Dandelion Storm   7. Alpha
4. 10 X Infinity   8. Black Box Recorder
  9. Trilogy