Various Artists / Swami Sound System
Album: Swami Sound System   Collection:General
Artist:Various Artists   Added:Oct 2003
Label:Swami Records  

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2003-12-08 Pull Date: 2004-02-09
Week Ending: Feb 8 Jan 18 Dec 28 Dec 21 Dec 14
Airplays: 1 1 2 2 4

Recent Airplay
1. Apr 19, 2007: Fiction Romance
Put Me in the Right Place
4. Dec 24, 2003: Browninan XXX-mass Eve
2. Feb 05, 2004: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
Orphan Boy
5. Dec 24, 2003: press and release
It's Only Death, Put Me in the Right Place, California Lights, Noise International
3. Jan 13, 2004: Baptism of Solitude
Noise International
6. Dec 18, 2003: Mr. Sparkle Challenge
California Lights

Album Review
Elias (Dr Furious)
Reviewed 2003-11-12
Excellent collection! Swami records is the label that has given recent KZSU Top10 hits like the Testors and the Husbands and other familiars (Rocket from the Crypt). You know that this is bound to be good!!! Shit, I even bought this record at a Husbands show, long before I saw it at the review shelf. And it's good. Lots of fun QUALITY PUNK, GARAGE and HEAVY bands. Enjoy! (Mike, Orges make sure you check out heavy band Loincloth and the rest of you don't miss out on Dan Sartain, Sonny Vincent, Hot Snakes and Beehive and the Barracudas)
PLAY: 8, 3, 10, 1, 5, 4 (heavy metal), 2, 7.
1. Very noisy intro... garagy rocker. Mid tempo. Lots of percussion noise effects.
2. Oh... the Husbands! Don't you love the Husbands? Our favorite 50s/60s all grrrl retro-bound garage rockers.
3. Intense dark punk rocker. Edgy. Really good.
5. Rocket from the Crypt. Fun pop garage punker... there are even TRUMPETS in this one.
6. Hypnotic, mid-to-slow tempo. Not much is going here. Still kind of cool, though.
7. NYC's late 70s seminal punk band the TESTORS. Punk intensity coupled to psych mood/vocals.
8. This one makes me so happy, I wanna dance! Synth noise, catchy riff on the lead, edgy guitars and vocals.
9. Raucous pop punk.
10. Sonny Vincent is a Sarah Reed (the Husbands) favorite. Fast raunchy punk-rocker. Nice vocals.
11. Fast and loud punk rocker.

Track Listing
 ArtistTrack Name
1. Beehive and the Barracudas Action
2. Husbands, the Orphan Boy
3. Hot Snakes U.S. Mint
4. Loincloth Noise International
5. Rocket From the Crypt California Lights
6. White Apes, the Put Me in the Right Place
7. Testors It's Only Death
8. Sartain, Dan P.C.B. '98
9. Sultans, the Whine,Cry,Bitch,Moan and Com
10. Vincent, Sonny Psycho I.D.
11. Mannequin Piss Mechanic's Joy Ride