Faux, the / Faux, the
Album: Faux, the   Collection:General
Artist:Faux, the   Added:Sep 2003

A-File Activity
Add Date: 2004-01-19 Pull Date: 2004-03-22
Week Ending: Mar 14 Feb 29 Feb 22 Feb 15 Feb 8 Feb 1 Jan 25
Airplays: 1 1 1 3 2 2 8

Recent Airplay
1. Jan 06, 2005: Fiction Romance
Love Lust Lies
4. Mar 10, 2004: Beware the Ides of March...
Love Lust Lies
2. May 20, 2004: Hello Kitten
Anonymous Id
5. Feb 24, 2004: Eclectica
Anonymous Id
3. Apr 29, 2004: Hello Kitten
Anonymous Id
6. Feb 18, 2004: sad and dangerous
Cold and Mechanical

Album Review
Reviewed 2004-01-21
THIS FUCKING ROCKS!!! From Boston, The Faux play intense post-punk songs that involve mean distorted bass, noisy synth, relentless drums, and mid-rangy vocals that remind me of Johnny Rotten. I’m going to argue that this is not electro-clash because it’s too intense and too fast to dance to; however, it would fit well heard among such acts. Unlike electro bands with no integrity, their songs don’t seek to catch you with an immediate dancy hook but instead build into persistent, noisy rock intensity. Think also of Trans Am, Public Image Ltd, and Six Finger Satellite, and play with such great newer bands as Dance Disaster Movement and ARE Weapons.

1. slow, hard swing w/ synth bass, then faster w/ screeching synth,
2. relentless hard rhythm, fast synth arpeggios. mostly instrumental.
3. upbeat song-format that highlights shrieking vox, nasty fuzz bass, and ends w/ melodic not quite epic synth
4. midtempo catchy groove w/ call and response type vocals, poppy synth bass, picks up w/ nice male and female screams. great!
5. sinister, repetitive intro w/ melodic synth. builds to a ridiculously loud noise intensity w/ thick synth bass chords and screechy vocals

Track Listing
1. Synthetic Heart   3. Cold and Mechanical
2. Instrumental   4. Anonymous Id
  5. Love Lust Lies